Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Woods Middle School

Public | 5-6 | 451 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2013

I have had all 3 of my kids go through this school. My last one is currently in 5th grade. I have had no issues at all. The staff is all friendly, nice, and caring. I just don't understand the bad reviews on this school. I have nothing but good to say about them! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Beware of this school. There is an enormous problem with discipline and bullying and the staff is unwilling and/or unable to handle it. The principal does not answer his phone, nor does he return messages. If you want to speak with him, you have to actually GO to the school and wait for him to come out of his office. The lack of communication between the staff members is concerning. This has been a terrible experience for my student and our family, and I encourage ANYONE who considers this school to find an alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

my daughter just completed 6th grade at washington woods, and we were very disappointed this year. I have had other children attend school here, but things seem to be getting worse. Class sizes are getting bigger and teachers not as willing to work with students who need more than the average time to learn a subject. I for the first time am considering going out of our district to attend a school. Holts focus has gone from quality education to athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Extremely high quality teaching staff, far above average, all things considered the best we have encountered in public schools. Principal leadership is well below average. Parents seem well involved and strong showing at parent teacher conferences, student activity nights, extracurricular events, etc. School could achieve a 5 star rating with new principal leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

Discipline is a big issue at Washington Woods. My child has been harassed and provoked on several occasions and yet the principal does nothing to support me or the teachers who are dealing with disruptive students. I try to reach him after school, when I pick up my son and the principal has already left the building. He does not return calls or answer emails. Moreover, this school's extracurricular focus is entirely on sports. Music and arts are given little thought. In fact, there has not been a steady choir teacher since school began in the 2009-2010 school year. The jock attitude--might makes right--is prevalent. Culture is wanting and it breaks my heart to send my son to this school day after day. Some teachers care and are wonderful. I don't mean to be unfair to them. But this school has been an awful experience for my son and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The teachers in my 6th grade daughters Pod are amazing. Mr. Buckley goes above and beyond to keep these kids interested with hands on projects and age appropriate humor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

this school is very good I was a student here in the years 2008/2009 and it was good mr.buckley is an awesome teacher and so is mrs.martin your child will really like this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

This school is great. WW DOES have yearbooks, some people may have started a school newspaper, field days, and extra learning activites. I am a student here and I think its really great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

I've had some pretty bad exsperiences at this school. We are not treated with respect and about 1/4 of the students at WWMS are self absorbed kids and and focus mainly on making other students feel bad.(trust me i've been through it)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

this school is amazing in all ways possible. everyone is nice, im not afraid of being jumped, the teachers are nice the they teach stuff great. i get it and that's never happened before
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

Awsome. The best school ever
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

I was disappointed to see there was very little opportunities for extracurricular activities. WW students can't do yearbook, school newspaper, or other extra learning activities. Also, there was no end of the year field day, or service learning day. I think, academically, that HOPE is a better school, but WW is more nurturing. I will say the school counselor at WW is more proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

Discipline is an extreme issue in this school. I feel that the leadership of the principal is lacking. Children are disciplined in a very negative way. Positive behavior in children requires ongoing positive reinforcement. This is very rare under the present leadership. Communication should be a key component between administrators and parents. This school takes too much into their own hands, and does not treat children with respect. Also, the focus on the MEAP 'training' for the entire beginning of the year is way overdone. The focus should be on teaching the required material, not for the test, but for the future of our children. Way to much pressure is put on the children to perform on this test,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

Our experience a WW was not good, staff mostly concerned with apperances, and having these new programs, with not alot of substance. Holt has massacared their Instrumental music program,by cutting it to 2x a week,Don't they know that children involved with music learn better. I was so discouraged by WW that my other child is now enrolled at Hope. We will see how that goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

208 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

200 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
Hispanic 10% 6%
African-American 7% 18%
Multiracial 7% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2055 South Washington Road
Delhi Charter Township, MI 48842
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 699-0250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Attwood School
Lansing, MI



Holt Lutheran Schools
Delhi Charter Township, MI


Holt Junior High School
Delhi Charter Township, MI


Gardner Academy
Lansing, MI


Hope Middle School
Delhi Charter Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT