Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elliott Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 356 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2013

We have been apart of Elliott Elementary consecutively since 2003. I have to say that we are fortunate to be apart of this wonderful school. The teachers and staff are phenominal and I would recommend this school to any parent looking for caring, enthusiastic teachers and staff who are always looking for new ways to enhance your childs education so that your child may succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Elliott is an amazing school with an even more Amazing staff!! We have been part of the Elliott family for a while since I have a daughter finishing 6th grade and one finishing 2nd. We Love Elliott!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My daughter started at this elementary at the beginning if the 07-08 school year. The transitionfrom a small town to whta I thought would be a larger one loomed over this new entry. I was very unsure how my third grader would adapt to the new surroundings. The staff at Elliott is incredible. From teacher's to recess monitors you couldn't ask for more involvement. Mr. Malatinsky has been an amazing teacher to my daughter. She has excelled in this classroom and thrived on the hands on approach they foster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I have a a daughter in the 2nd grade, and one in the 5th grade. They both went to Elliot,until we had to move down south a little over a year ago.My girls still talk about Elliot and how much they miss it,and all the great teachers and staff.Being minorities my daughters had a hard time being accepted in school down here.But what they were thaught at Elliott helped them over come this. They are both on the honor roll and my 2nd grader is going into the gifted program.I believe because of the great start they had at Elliot it made them the great students they are,they have never forgotten their C.A.R.E.S. Elliott Elementary is a great school , with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I don't believe Elliot is very good if your child is challenged. I am very unhappy with the level of education my son is recieving. He recieved more services in a smaller school district up north.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

The best place to send your kid. The principal, teachers, and staff are very caring, and rewards accordingly. My daughter moves here from VA a year ago and came in as a 3rd Grader. She was able to fit in and make friends inspite of the fact that she's a minority. She's now in 4th Grade and loving every minute of it. She's also considered a highly gifted kid but she's very happy in Elliott. She learns from her classmates, teachers, staff, and the library. She is well behave and respectful because she said, Eagles CARES (Cooperation, Achievement, Respect, Effort and Safety). The best thing she learns from Elliott Elementary School. To the Principal, teachers, and all the staff, thank you for everything you have done for Melinda. We are very grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I can't imagine a group of teachers, principals and staff that care more about the kids - and are truly dedicated to their motto that 'all kids can learn'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

My child is academically advanced and I have suggested many times that she be skipped ahead to first grade. She is the only child in her class that reads and does addition and subtraction. The school's suggestion was that she do work from first grade, the catch? I HAVE TO SEND IN THE CURRICULUM! Um, isn't curriculum the SCHOOL'S job, not mine?! I am appauled. If they can not provide curriculum for gifted children, then they should state that and let the parents know ahead of time, or grant my request to put her in a higher grade level. My child is bored at school and showing behavioral issues. I have been instructed to talk to her and fix these problems. The only problem that I have found is that she is not being challenged, gets bored, and becomes disruptive. My solution...find a better school that can keep her challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

After a 'bad' experience in kindergarten at a charter school, I placed my son at Elliott thru school of choice. The staff and teachers welcomed him and not once made us feel like outsiders. He is now in 3rd grade and reading at a 6th grade level! I know this is due to the work and care of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

This is our second year at Elliott Elementary, I transfered my daughter from a private school where she had been in since kindergarten. My then, 7 year old, determined it was not a good fit, and we started the search. We applied to the Holt S.D. as a school of choice and got accepted into Elliot Elem. It was a great move! My daughter is happy and so am I. Both faculty and staff welcomed us with open arms and made us feel at home. I only regret not having started my daughter there since grade K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

Meap scores continue to improve and I can't say enough good things about the teachers, principal, and staff at Elliott. They strive to help each child be the best they can be. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Our son has gone to this school since kidnegarden and he has excelled and now our daughter is going there to. I can not say enough about Mrs Minnick and Judy they are really good people. And all the teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

My daughter goes to resource center for reading comprehension. Last year was very wonderful, they brought her up 2 years reading level in one. This year has not been as sucessful as we have a new resource teacher. I just met her resource teacher for the 5th grade at Hope Middle School and she seems excited and 'fresh' to teach. We look forward to next year. We started Elliott Elem. transfering from a 'public school academy'. We received very little help at the academy for special education. I give Elliott many thumbs up. The wait list for school choice was very much worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

I school of choice my son to Elliott. Removing him from the Lansing school district was the best thing I ever did! This is his 3rd year at Elliott and the improvement is remarkable. Lansing schools barely taught him his alphabet and I was concerned he would lag behind in reading and writing skills. My son came to Elliott with a speech impediment, couldn't read and writing was poor at best. It has taken time but the staff at Elliott has been wonderful and he is right where he should be skill wise. The extra efforts that are put forth are amazing, after school reading programs, speech program and wonderful teachers for the most part! Sad that we have to even review schools at all. All schools should use Elliott's example to set the standard. School of choice has provided my son the chance at the best education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

They brought my child up 3 1/2 reading levels in 2 years. Most teachers are very involved. They care how a child is surviving mentally as well as physically and work hard with the kids to keep them caught up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
Hispanic 13% 6%
African-American 12% 18%
Asian 5% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Steve Netzel
Fax number
  • (517) 699-3409

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Bond Avenue
Delhi Charter Township, MI 48842
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 699-2106

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sycamore Elementary School
Delhi Charter Township, MI



Holt Lutheran Schools
Delhi Charter Township, MI



Wilcox Elementary School
Delhi Charter Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT