Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holt Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 952 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

as eighth grade student there, I don't really appreciate this school, of course because I'm a kid and every kid hates school but let me tell you why I hate it. at this school the teachers yell at you for how you're dressing when you aren't breaking any rules, they just want to yell at someone so they yell at us for no reason. this school is not my school of choice that's for sure. and that was one example of why I hate this school.


Posted February 7, 2013

I have had 2 of my 3 kids go through this school so far. I will send my 3rd one without any hesitation! Only things I can "complain" about is that some of the math teachers are rude and don't seem to want to help the kids when they need it (not all, some), and there is 1 lady in the main office (out of several that work in there) that NEVER smiles, NEVER makes you feel welcome, and always makes you feel like you are a horrible human being for coming in there! If it wasn't for the other ladies....I don't think anyone would go in there. Love the principal! Love all the other teachers and staff. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I think holt schools are good schools. my older children went there in the early 80's, and the wrer more advanced, then other school's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I do not agree with the quality this school seems to show on these ratings. 1. Nothing offered for above average students. We were told our daughter would have to wait until Senior High... but they do have 6 football teams. And a socially competitive environment if you think junior high isn't hard enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Well, this is mostly a very good school. I do like how most of the teachers can relate well to all the students. One of the major problems though is that security gaurds and office workers are not very kind to students or parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

I'd like to see Holt implement letter grades earlier than 7th grade. The new experience of combining two middle schools to become a class of 500 students, juggling 5-6 classes/teachers, and getting letter grades for the first time is too much change at once...implementing letter grades at the middle school would be better for the students. Holt also needs more emphasis on fine arts...we have no elementary art program and no strings program at all in the district, compared to our neighbors in East Lansing and Okemos. Dr. Scott, the principal, is outstanding...he is always in the halls interacting with students. He knows what's going on and is very communicative and proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

I was just at the Jr High for 8th and 7th grade. It's a pretty good school. The prinicipal was really great. He was on the anouncements a lot nad i saw him in the hallways every day. I don't even really know what my principal looks like up-close at the 9th grade campus. One thing though is that the staff in the office or the security guards were never really nice to any of the kids and even to my parents. I also had some not so great teachers and some great ones at the same time
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2007

This is our first year at holt. We moved from the lansing district. The staff and students have been wonderful in helping my child adjust. This is the first year for lockers, several diferent classes and teachers. I volunteer in the a.M. At the school. I wanted to see for myself how things were. I am very pleased with what am getting to be a part of. The principle knows students names and stops, talks to them, asks about their school work, sports, and family. I have often seen him playing basketball with the students. The staff knows the students and interacts with them the same way. Staff members are continuesly asking how my child is adjusting, if we need anything and stopped my child to ask about her report card. The academics are also excellent. Students have a well rounded positive learning enviroment. Thanks holt staff for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

I account the principal is a good disciplinarian. Additionally I think this school has a good learning environment
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2006

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Holt my daughter is thriving at this school , the teachers and parental involvement are what make the difference and I truly encourage anyone to give Holt Junior High a chance!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

I love Holt schools so much! I went to Detroit for two years until I transfered to I Gardner(Lansing). I was only at Gardner for a month last year until my parents had to transfer me to Holt. But, Holt was different. When I first walked in to my new school in Holt, I could smell a different smell. The school smelled clean, the lockers were twice the size, and the bathroom stalls auctually had doors. I made friends easily because the people are so nice. Now, this is my 3RD year at Holt. I use to be a girl who tranferred and moved to different cities all the time, now I belong somewhere, I belong in Holt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2006

Holt Junior High is a great school. All the teachers are excellent and I know all the other students at Holt like them a lot also. I also have to mention the excellent principal and his team of helpers. They are all great. myself in the two years I have been at Holt Junior High School I have had about 20 complements on how great my school is and I just say back,'Oh thanks I love my school.' And I truly mean it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2006

I Love Going to this school I met lots of good friends they have Great teachers And the Prinicpal is awsome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2006

With a strong principal for leadership and teaching excellence, Holt Junior High School is a growing urban school focused on learning. The emerging diversity is well blended and adds to the experience for the student. A much improved and more consistent discipline policy and management of the student behavior is needed however. If this school is to avoid the pitfalls of many other schools in the area. Without a clear on manageable policy, teachers will be mired in issues unrelated to teaching and this shinning gem may lose it's luster. Weak central administration makes this possibility almost a certainty over time. Strong parental evolvement seems to stop at the assistant principal's office. Parents need to take a stand with teachers and demand more than just lip service about discipline and place the responsibility on those who would undermine the learning and classroom instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

467 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

464 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

464 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

458 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

457 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

457 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 69%
Hispanic 14% 6%
African-American 11% 18%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1784 Aurelius Road
Delhi Charter Township, MI 48842
Phone: (517) 694-7117

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Middle School
Delhi Charter Township, MI



Holt Lutheran Schools
Delhi Charter Township, MI



Washington Woods Middle School
Delhi Charter Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT