Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jemison Mae C. 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a teacher
The staff at Jemison measures their success by the success of the students.

Jemison Mae C. 1

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
This is a good school for Pre-K through 5th grade. The middle school section is horrible lacking serious discipline, parental envolvement, and teacher control. There is no consistent enforcement of school rules, nor aggressive encouragement for parental involvement.

Jemison Mae C. 3

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school for Pre-K through 5th grade. The middle school section is awful. The children are running wild, and out of control. The teachers have very little control of their classrooms. Parents are not actively involved in the school, and that's why the children are not well-disciplined. School rules are not strictly enforced. If all of the parents would seriously work with the school, in the classrooms especially, then our children will be in an environment where they have no choice but to learn. Everything starts with the parents.

Jemison Mae C. 0
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a teacher
Every school is expected to educate all students. Many of the students come to school prepared to learn. Teachers and parents that work together, see the most progress in their child's growth(academically, socially and emotionally.)

Jemison Mae C. 4

Posted September 03, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jemison Mae C. 2

Posted August 21, 2007
- a parent
I retract what I previously said about Jemison. Before the merge this was a very well organized school but since the merge it is going down hill. I'm going to have to teach my now fourth grader third grade. He did not learn much in the third grade. He entered the school year with a substitute and by the time his regular teach came aboard it was late in the semester. She was good with my sun and he did well under her guidance. However, she became ill again and he had multiple substitutes afterwards. With no organization, I feel the children were cheated for third grade. It would be nice to see Jemison return to the high standards they were once noted for.

Jemison Mae C. 1

Posted May 23, 2006
- a parent
The school has been very unorganized and unruly since they have merged this school year to the Tireman location. Furthermore, all the extracurricular activites (that I paid for) have discontinued due to so many children that have been disenrolled and there also is no more latchkey. The after school activities and latchkey were cut in the middle of the school year!! There was no replacement programs which left a lot of parents in limbo. This is the most unorganized school I have ever seen and my children defintely will not attend next year! As for the principle Ms. Jenkins she is a wonderful person and I wish her the best in getting this school in order for the future.

Jemison Mae C. 5

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
My son blossomed under the attentive eyes of his Pre-school teacher and her assistant. He can read, write, spell, and is working on adding and substracting. He loves the teachers and learning!

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jemison Mae C.
16400 Tireman St, Detroit, MI  48228
(313) 584-5525
Last modified Jemison Mae C. is a Public school
Jemison Mae C. Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.