Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golightly Education Center 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
As a mother of a 4 year old son who currently attends Go Lightly Early Educational Center in the Pre-K program, I was skeptical of DPS Schools as a option for my only child. This particular Pre-K teacher was recommended to me by a family member who's son attended in previous years. I am so impressed with the way she conducts her classroom, her organizational skills are immpeciable, attitude stellar, and interaction with the children and parents far exceed my expectation. To date, this teacher still checks in on the progress of my cousin's older son and sincerely cares about his development as well as other students. Now that my son is in her class, I do see a difference in my son's language/vocabulary, motor skills, word choices and love for school. He picks up on the teacher's passion and lovable spirit to teach. She stands outside of her room each morning to greet the parents and always interacts with us via in-person and email. She keeps the parents informed by all channels and keeps us in the know about the activities our children are participating in. Keep up the good work Room Pre-K A102 - You so ROCK!

Golightly Education Center 4

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Detroit Public Schools as a whole have gone through a major change. But the staff and parents of Golightly Educational Center are working to maintain the excellence that has come to be expected at Golightly. I can only speak to the elementary school as my children are in the 3rd and 5th grades. This year the school has gotten a new principal and assistant principal. They seem very dedicated and focused on making Golightly a school of excellence both in the elementary and middle school building. This is the trial year for Golightly's middle school and if I don't like what i see, my children will be attending another middle school, and that's the truth.

Golightly Education Center 5

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Golightly Education Center 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a student
I loved this school because it was original.

Golightly Education Center 5

Posted May 31, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Golightly Education Center 2

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Golightly Education Center 1

Posted March 02, 2009
- a parent
Golightly was a very good school about 5 years ago but now things have taken a turn for the worst. The teachers dont care, the behavior of some of the students is horrible. This school does not prepare the students for the rral world. I will be taking my child out of Golightly this year. I cant take it any more and you shouldnt either.

Golightly Education Center 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Golightly Education Center 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent that has participated with the Golightly Family since my child has started 1st Grade at Golightly. She is now a 7th Grade student at the school. I know the Administration, the teachers, the staff and the students. We have been like a family. I am sorry that some people feel negative towards our school. Maybe if they volunteer around the school with the kids/staff they will get a better impression. The school is still a nice school. You could make it better!!! ~Monica Frazier

Golightly Education Center 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2008
- a student
I have been attending this school since kindergarten. I will be graduating from Golightly in 2009. I plan on going to Cranbrook. Golightly has really prepared me for everything I shall encounter. I have already passed my test for Cranbrook with flying colors, and I am smart enough to know that Golightly had something to do with this. I feel insulted when I see comments that our students are out of control. Our school was and is a very controlled school. Now, I will say, however, that there has been a slight behavior-related change since we've opened our school to Sherrard and Loving, two schools that closed. If anything, these students are the reason for your opinion. If you still feel that way, feel free to take your child elsewhere. By the way, I will be crying at graduation, I wish I didn't have to leave.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golightly Education Center
5536 Saint Antoine St, Detroit, MI  48202
(313) 494-2538
Last modified Golightly Education Center is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golightly Education Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.