Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Detroit School of Arts 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a teacher
Detroit School of Arts is one of the best kept secrets in the state of Michigan. The students are motivated , focused and ready to learn. I appreciate having a school community that is about the business of education. An excellent choice of a high performing high school. Applications are accepted on an ongoing bases.

Detroit School of Arts 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing. When choosing a school you have to consider DSA. The test scores are amazing and teachers are why. They do their best with the students. They take their time to prepare for test and more. The school have a amazing performances and more. This is a true college prep school. Its a safe environment. This is a school to consider!!!

Detroit School of Arts 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a community member
I read each of the reviews that was submitted, and ended up saddened and appalled by some of the responses from the parents and the students. Dr. Denise Davis-Cotton, the founder of DSA had a vision in which she was able to bring to fruition by talking with people such as Max Fisher, and other "movers and shakers" to get the process of building a school so that students that were creative, talented , scholarly, and interested in working towards excellence would be able to achieve their respective goals. Inasmuch as she did this, to vilify the school, the curriculum, and the staff is too much. As a former educator in the DPS, I fully understand and recognize the fact that there are problems in many schools, whether they are DPS schools or schools throughout this country. Dr. Cotton has exhibited the right attitude, the steadfastness to work for the betterment of all students that enter the doors of DSA.She is one person. She wore many hats, some of them were very "Hard hats." I strongly suggest that instead of spewing hatefulness,, .rollup your sleeves, go to the school, volunteer, tutor ,, spend some time there.

Detroit School of Arts 1

Posted June 08, 2011
- a community member
DSA is a Detroit Public School, need I say any more. I removed my child because I didn't feel she was safe. I felt the staff cared more about the new building than the lives of the students. Sure the school had security and metal detectors but they were inefficient. There was a high turnover of teachers and subs. They did a good job getting students into college but many are unprepared. They have great ideas but poor implementation. Removing my child was the best decision I've ever made regarding her education. Compared to other DPS schools it's better than average but compared to other Michigan schools, DSA is substandard.

Detroit School of Arts 1

Posted September 01, 2010
- a community member
i hear that, they dont have anything to gather. the office was a mess, and because they kept loosing the assignments the students did, they were just giving them bad grades

Detroit School of Arts 4

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Detroit School of Arts 1

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Detroit School of Arts 5

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
Iam a student of Detroit School of Arts ''DSA'' and iam very impressed with school. At first I was going to Cass Tech. but than I heard about DSA. So i had to choose and DSA won. Overall i have love this school.

Detroit School of Arts 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Detroit School of Arts 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
College prep with a fine arts/ performing arts specialty. The radio/ TV and Arts major are awesome

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Detroit School of Arts
123 Selden St, Detroit, MI  48201
(313) 494-6000
Last modified Detroit School of Arts is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Detroit School of Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.