Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Detroit, MI
Students enrolled: 453
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
Bennett is lead by an amazing principal named Josette Buendia. She has an excellent rapport with the parents, students, staff, and community. She has developed partnerships with numerous organizations to provide assistance to parents and students. Students are offered so many things free of charge at Bennett. Each student has the opportunity to attend numerous educational field trips at little or no cost. Gleaners has partnered with the school to provide weekly food bags for needy families. University of Michigan comes in to teach art to 4th and 5th graders. Tutoring is offered after school along with karate, boy scouts, girl scouts, soccer, volleyball, and even violin classes. Breakfast and lunch is provided to students of low-income free of charge. Bennett also has Playworks which is an organized play program. Students settle conflicts on the playground with themselves using the skills taught through Playworks. Bennett also has a state of the art computer lab with over 40 fully functioning computers. Numerous volunteers come in on a daily basis to read with students. During Christmastime , an organization called Bridgepointe brings gifts for every child and comes with over 200 volunteers to make it a special day for every single child who attends Bennett. The staff at Bennett is one of the best in Detroit! Each classroom is taught by highly effective and certified teachers. Each classroom is equipped with up to date technology including, computers, ipads, promethean boards , and elmos to assist with teaching the curriculum. If you live near Southwest Detroit or elsewhere, I would definitely consider Bennett Elementary school!

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a teacher
Bennett is a wonderful school in Southwest Detroit. The teachers are all highly qualified in their subject matter. Our staff, not just the teachers but the school service assistants, custodians, engineer, office staff, etc. go above an beyond what is required of them to ensure that our students have a positive environment conducive to student learning and success. Our principal is also very supportive of the teachers making sure that we have the necessary materials and supplies that we need to teach our students. I highly recommend Bennett Elementary School as a place to bring your child for his/her education.

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
me gusta la atencion que la maestra le pone a mi hijo, y que esta siempre alerta alas necesidades de el, en su aprendizaje y autoestima.

Bennett Elementary School 4

Posted April 11, 2014
- a teacher
Bennett has very dedicated teachers. They are truly professionals. The children are a pleasure to teach. It is a joy to come to work each day to work with this group of students. You can tell where the students get their character from because the parents are equally as wonderful. The parents are deeply concerned about their children's education and do what they can to help them. The school is clean, safe and very well maintained.

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
Bennett is an impressive neighborhood school. Although the students present a lot of needs, they come in willing to learn and the staff is willing to help them overcome challenges. If a student is not doing well in school, the staff asks the question, "Why?" Parents are involved in the school, and there are about 25 that come to ESL classes daily and another 40 that come every month to PACSA meetings. That is an impressive showing. The school is full of bilingual staff to assist parents that speak Spanish as well. Bennett has a parent resource center, after school programs and activities. They partner with Playworks to provide gym and recess while teaching leadership and teamwork. There is a soccer program, karate classes, tutoring after school, cooking classes and even a school garden. Bennett cares about the students, parents and community and works to provide a quality education to our neighborhood's children.

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
yo personalmente recomendaria esta escuela Bennett por que hay muy Buenos maestros y sobretodo hay bilingues y mas que nada se han echo muchos cambios con nuestra directora nueva pero me gustaria que pusieran clases de musica y ballet para las ninas y soccer para los ninos y que hay muchos progamas para los padres ok grasias

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a teacher
This school is really a diamond in the rough from the staff to the students. As DPS are being looked at as low scoring schools i see a school full of life and love. The way staff treats students

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
I am real happy with Bennett. I have 2 kids attending this school and i am happy with the results.

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
La escuela es muy buena,hay excelentes maestros,me gustaria que hubiera mas actividades para despues de escuela para todos los grados, la escuela esta en muy buenas condiciones,es muy segura.lo que me gusta mas de la escuela es que tiene muy buenos maestros,siempre estan atentos alos alumnos que esten aprendiendo y subiendo su nivel academico.

Bennett Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
bueno a mi esta escuela siempre a sido para mi muy buena la ayuda que hay para los padres cuando lo necesitas tuve la suerte o no suerte que cambie a mis hijos de escuela y pude comparar la diferencia fue como un sueno pero regrese y vi la mucha diferencia que hay cuando regresamos se me hizo tan bella no...siempre lo fue el respeto sobre todo muy bien.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bennett Elementary School
2111 Mullane St, Detroit, MI  48209
(313) 849-3585
Last modified Bennett Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bennett Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top