Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chrysler Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
I addressed an issue regarding an bully issue with the receptionist and the assistant principal and no one took my situation as important.

Chrysler Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Shirley! She was a dear to my child and I. She makes sure to return your calls and my daughter really liked her.


Chrysler Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a community member
My daughterwill be in 5th grade and Chrysler and if by some miracle 6-8th grades were added, I'd be ecstatic!!! I enjoy the fact that the school isn't large and the students and parents all know one another. My daughter learning experience has been wonderful and she enjoys attending school.

Chrysler Elementary School 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot of bullying, and the principle and teachers have turned a blind eye to it. It could be a great school, but kids are so nasty to each other that it shows that the teachers have a lack of control in the classroom, and aren't enforcing what mutual respect means. Overall, it's a clique school..and this school is no better (academically) than any other DPS elementary school.

Chrysler Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Chrysler Elementary has provided a wonderful environment for my oldest child. My youngest has also just started at Chrysler. I cannot say enough about the staff and faculty of this small school. I immediately felt good about this school upon entering it (when researching public school options). Warm and dedicated staff, one classroom per grade, music instruction, a dedicated science teacher, after school clubs (Cub Scouts, Daisies, Bible Club, Cooking Matters, Chess) and a phenomenal latchkey program (kids never want to leave!!) Chrysler has emphasized writing and early literacy, with many children at Chrysler reading above grade level. Highly recommended.


Chrysler Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
I enjoy my kids going to Chrysler. I have a good relationship with the teachers and the principal. I feel that my kids receives the individual attention that they need. Chrysler is like a family and has expanded my children Reading, Math, and writing skills. Both of my children are very active with the activities that Chrysler has to offered. Yes, I know that all school have their issues, but I feel assured that I can talk to any teacher that I need to. I am looking forward to a good school year at Chrysler while working with my children, teachers, and other staff at Chrysler. I am glad that my children were able to get into Chrysler, I have build great relationship with the parents as well.

Chrysler Elementary School 4

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
I have been keeping track of post on this site about Chrysler School and I am here to say that some things do magically disappear. It doesn't matter if they are good or bad. I had a great post and it is no longer listed. I just want to say that there are problems in every school. I had an issue with a teacher and like any parent, I defended my child to the fullest. I know that in the real world, there are going to be people that just don't like you and don't mean you any good. It's just a fact of life. I want my child to know that and many other negative things that can happen. My son is stronger because he experienced this issue and made it through. He will be a well rounded young man when he leaves Chrysler.

Chrysler Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from Chrysler about 5 years ago. I HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!! I started Chrysler when I was in the 1st grade, I am now going to the 10th. Chrysler has not only given great knowledge, but great people skills aswell. All of the teachers were great. I loved them all. I'll have to say my three favorite teachers were my 1st grade teacher Mrs.Ivy(Ms.Veal), Mrs.Potter my 5th grade teacher, and my 2nd grade teacher Ms.Doubley. But in all Chrysler was my favorite school of all.


Chrysler Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
I see that my previous review of Chrysler Elementary School has mysteriously disappeared from this site. Anyhow, as I had stated in an earlier review, the leadership and teachers have formed a clique with each other that is unprofessional, judgemental., and the poorest example yet of how adults should behave. Further, this has led to the formation of a very self righteous social construct predicated on cronyism, nepotism, and every other "ism" you can image. If these people don't like you or your child, if they don't feel that you are a good "fit", they will make stuff up about your youngster and portray them as defiant and in need of medication. They go to great lengths to uphold their facade, at the expense of your youngsters' emotional well being. Further, this review is simply a repeat, in many ways of what was reported in 2006. This speaks to the seriousness of the unprofessional conduct which persists at Chrysler Elementary even now in 2013. I would expect that Greatschools.com will do its part to keep the public informed and not let this information mysteriously disappear. Like majic.

Chrysler Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a community member
My son attended Chrysler from Kindergarten through 5th and graduated last year. He got a great foundation to go anywhere from there. The school is still a jewel and should be a model for successful schools in Detroit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chrysler Elementary School
1445 East Lafayette Street, Detroit, MI  48207
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (313) 494-8440
Last modified Chrysler Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top