Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cooke Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Too much effort was put in keeping kids from fights and disrupting. Barely any extra curricular activities. Remedial standards in math but also in most of DPS. Not enough time to make up work.

Cooke Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Lots of the teachers are stressed because of disrespectful children. They can yell a lot.


Cooke Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Bullying, fighting, field trips Were canceled at the last minute with no warning. Last minute lengthy assignments were given because of a few children's bad behavior.

Cooke Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
My child was doing bad and hid grades from me because his teachers did not offer tools for improving his grades. My child is very bright but the other kids were so disruptive and brutal it was hard to concentrate. Unfair Blame was placed on him. Others abused him verbally and physically and nothing was done.

Cooke Elementary School 2

Posted September 08, 2015
- a parent
Crowded classrooms. Unruly children fighting regularly. Low academic Standards. No Art, or extra curricular activities made available to most children. No graduation for fifth grade students. Some teachers don't communicate even in your child is failing. What was learned in 5th grade at Cooke was taught or at least introduced in the suburbs in the second and third grade appalling! No wonder urban children have such a hard time competing globally.


Cooke Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
This is an excellent school, not only did my children go here, but my grandchildren as well, it is truly the best in the city.Mr. Flowers the principal is outstanding and he truly loves the children.

Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a teacher
We have a great school and the school family is committed to learning for everyone.

Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
I give Cooke an Excellent rating because of the committed Principal, Anthony Flowers, and all the teachers who truly care about the children and look out for them every mornng and afternoon when the school day starts and ends. I also like the fact that Cooke is neighborhood type school surrounded by beautiful homes in a well kept area. In addition, Cooke, I might add, is a 4 times State Championship school in the MLAG for 2008. All that shows is committee to quality learning. The school itself has an almost private-school type atmosphere. The chidren seem to be happy and I have never seen fights at the school, ever! In seven years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cooke Elementary School
18800 Puritan Avenue, Detroit, MI  48223
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (313) 494-7458
Last modified Cooke Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top