Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Detroit, MI
Students enrolled: 360
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
As a parent I do not recommend this school to anyone. There is a huge lack of communication between faculty and the parents about what is going on with their child. They are quick to call home after a situation has escalated to far but not about the progress children's grades during the semester. It is not until report cards are given that I am made aware that my child is falling behind and not when the problem is arising so that me as a parent and the teacher can discuss the steps that need to be taken to get my child the help they need. They don't really care about helping the children. If they did they would be more involved with the parents as well.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 1

Posted March 01, 2014
- a teacher
As a former teacher of the school, I cannot in good conscious recommend it. There are many things wrong with the school. However, most of the issues have nothing to do with the teachers.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a community member
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT SCHOOL MY GRAND CHILD ATTENDS THIS SCHOOL. I HAVE KNOWN THE LAST 3 PRINCIPALS, THEY ALL WORKED HARD and care about our children

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 3

Posted May 25, 2012
- a community member
I am a Former Student of Thurgood Marshall and I honestly feel that this school has declined tremendously since I attended this school. My younger brother now goes there and there are a lot of issues that still need to be handled but over all the staff does care about the kids.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 3

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
I did not care for the principle, Mrs. Pearsall. I am glad she got fired, she simply bite the hand that was feeding her.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2010
- a parent
My oldest child is 20 now and it's so Great I'd wish I hadn't missed the Open Enrollment Deadline for DPS received info. way-way to Late....

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2010
- a community member
Because the kids at Thurgood Marshall need lots of help and deserve to receive some and because the teachers there are the best and do what they can to help the students, but need more financial support. Many of the teachers spend a lot out of their pocketbook each year for the kids.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Thurgood Marshall is a school that puts children first. The teachers and adminstration care about making a difference.

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a community member
Provides a great foundation for kids educationally!

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
I Love Thurgood marshall because teacher and staff care about the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marshall Thurgood Elementary School
15531 Linwood Street, Detroit, MI  48238
(313) 494-8820
Last modified Marshall Thurgood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marshall Thurgood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top