Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
Streetview?fov=70&size=130x130&location=12800+kelly+rd,detroit,mi+48224&sensor=false&client=gme-greatschoolsinc&signature=cv5e9oqxihts71cyw971gcgdrxs=

Denby High School

GreatSchools rating:
Community rating:
Excellent Schools Detroit rating: Promising
State rating: Red
9-12
District
Detroit MI

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Help this school win $5,000
by posting a review


18 reviews of this school


Denby High School 5299560 4

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Although Denby still faces some challenges as it is a neighborhood school, the community and culture of the school has changed dramatically for the better. Hallways are clear by the bells and students are in class learning. Teachers seem more connected to the school an surrounding community and have made efforts to get the kids involved in programs that expose them to all of the innovative things happening in Detroit. Denby students are required to do community service and each freshman is required to participate in an elective club. Keep the trend Tars!

Denby High School 4945346 4

Posted October 09, 2012
- a teacher
Denby has improved a lot since moving from DPS to EAA. With the renovation, new staff and administration, Denby is on the move to be a great school again!

Denby High School 4933210 1

Posted September 25, 2012
- a community member
I went there in the late 80's and it was HORRIBLE then I can only imagine the decay of the school and loss of young minds stuck in this Educational vacuum!

Denby High School 2051560 3

Posted April 02, 2011
- a community member
Great school . Had kin fokes going there when if first opened up .I went there in the 40's and earned a D letter in track It was the best school on the east side then, and is still the best school on the east side now Like the school song goes " "Denby we are always loyal we are always true etc."

Denby High School 2555936 5

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Denby High School 3169723 3

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Denby High School 2849731 1

Posted February 11, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Denby High School 2633374 5

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Denby High School 2184553 1

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
I have a ninth grade daughter attending Denby High School, and I must say that I'm disappointed in the DPS system as a whole. The school contains over 2300 students which is the highest student enrollment for all high schools in Detroit, and it shows. The halls are constantly littered with students, the staff is ill equipped to handle these children, and the security guards are no better.

Denby High School 1434835 1

Posted January 06, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools, Inc. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools Inc. All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Denby High School
12800 Kelly Rd, Detroit, MI  48224
(313) 866-7200
Last modified
Denby High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.