Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


Durfee Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Durfee Prek-8th grade is on its way to greatness. We have a new principal that seems to have the students best interest in mind. The school is an older school, however many updates have been made. Some updates include fresh painted walls, a welcome center at the entrance of the school and decorated walls that encourage what the students are being taught. This school has received negative reviews in past time but I beg to differ. We have great leadership and teachers that care about the students. I'm a very active parent and I see the vision of Durfee School!

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2013
- a community member
This school is as rotten as it gets when it comes to order / discipline as well as safety of the school kids. The inside is beyond rundown. There is paint peeling off the walls, spraypaint and grafitti on ares of the outside (and some inside). The building is falling apart at the seams. There are some good teachers, but there are ALOT of those who just simply yell at the sudents. The kids run the halls, cussing and acting up when they should be in class, they're violent towards eachother and show no respect for teachers. How this school is still open is beyond me. DPS is failing these students and have blinders on their eyes when it comes to some of these schools. My child will not be returning to this school come the fall. You can look at the drop in the test scores and see how bad this school has gotten, its utterly pathetic.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 1

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
this is a horrible school. the office help is rude. i waited over a hour and a half to put my child back in school and ended up leaving without seeing anyone. when you call you get a busy signal or no one answers your call.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 15, 2010
- a teacher
The last review was on the mark. This year there is a new principal, so it must be better, could not get worse. former teacher

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
Not recommended due to discipline issues by students. Administration is very poorly organized and 'cliquish' with the disobedient students and parents leaving the weakling students at prey.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 1

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Durfee Elementary-Middle School 4

Posted April 26, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Durfee Elementary-Middle School
2470 Collingwood St, Detroit, MI  48206
(313) 252-3070
Last modified Durfee Elementary-Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Durfee Elementary-Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.