Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gee Edmonson Academy 1

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the worst school my children have ever attended. The teachers curse at the students and talk to them any kind of way. They will only notify you if your child's behavior does not meet their standards not when they have a concern about the child's academics. The teachers are unprofessional and do not act as role models during school time, then expect the kids to act like angels. If something happens related to a child you get multiple different accounts of the story from multiple different staff members. When attempting to address a issue with the teacher, the demeanor of the teacher is defensive. There needs to be a better structure within this school.

Gee Edmonson Academy 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a teacher
This school has come a long way since DPS is no longer in charge. I enjoy working here and the climate the Principal has established for students and staff. The school has made many partnerships with area organizations and assists parents as much as possible! If I had children, I would definitely bring them here. They do not tolerate bullying and violence and take proactive approach to discourage negative behavior and encourage positive behavior and character.


Gee Edmonson Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Deplorable school. The school will violate their own policies, rules and regulations. Send your children here at your own risk! The school will give out your children's information despite paperwork you fill out at the beginning of the year. Bullying is toleration. Sexual harassment is not punished according to handbook.

Gee Edmonson Academy 4

Posted September 13, 2013
- a teacher
I don't know what the school was like in previous years with former management, but so far, I am very impressed with Edmonson. Administration definitely expects a lot out of their teachers, but they are kind and supportive, providing all the help they can. Students are held to incredibly high behavior and academic standards; I can see a huge difference in how they conduct themselves compared to other inner-city schools I've worked at in the past. I truly believe the school is preparing our future leaders.

Gee Edmonson Academy 3

Posted November 09, 2010
- a community member
i attended this school 9 years ago, during the brief two years of my stay in usa. it made a great impression on me. i don't know about sloppy teachers, or ill behaved children, but the way i will always remember it is as a welcoming, comforting place when i was very young, and very homesick. anwesha c, india


Gee Edmonson Academy
no rating

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
This school needs improvement with the teachers,the staff,the principle,and the students. I heard one teacher say I don't have to teach you and I still get paid. The taechers yell at the students, and there's no organization. I like that Robert Bob is trying to clean up the school, but all teacher should not teach especially if they don't love teaching children of all skill levels. I wish the kids had other options like going to another district even if they don't live in that district. I expect the best education for my child like Detroit teachers who send their children to suburban schools expect.

Gee Edmonson Academy 4

Posted November 23, 2005
- a parent
Ms. Petrini is wonderfully dedicated principal. She has an ear for the parents and a heart for the children. The teaching resource team is well integrated. The student population has sprinklings of diversity. The Edmonson-Dewey merge has added pressure to the staff. The K-2 classrooms seem to be working best with changes but the higher grades (3-5) are still dealing with some behavior problems. Dewey was a problematic school. Blending the cultures is a work in progress but I have confidence that this principal can make the difference. This school has improved. The Honors Assembly, highlighted all students could at least achieve the citizenship award. The classrooms are improving one desk at a time. Time, love, and support are what this school needs. The after school program has numerous activities with before school tutoring. The LSCO president for this year seems exuberant. Not a perfect school but still a good one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gee Edmonson Academy
1300 West Canfield St, Detroit, MI  48201
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (313) 228-0910
Last modified Gee Edmonson Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top