Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Detroit, MI
Students enrolled: 541
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harms Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
When my children began to go to the Detroit school system I was very nervous. After a short time while meeting the parents and school staff I found out how special the school is . My two children attend Harms elementary. The building itself is old (really looks beautiful from the outside) other than that I feel lucky to have found a school so friendly and focused on getting these kids to read, two languages to boot. Thanks to all at the school especially Mr. Cruz- commander and leader!

Harms Elementary School 3

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are dedicated but the school needs a cleanup & makeover. Students are very much willing to learn!

Harms Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
This school is one of the best DPS schools I have seen so far..I moved here from California and run my own business in the area...now knowing I can afford to pay for my children's education, I would rather them stay "rooted" and "never take anything for granted"..now with this said the principle is VERY dedicated to the school...mind you that I research the other schools around the area.. "charter school" and NOT ONE principle OR teachers stood out as well as Harms did..my children's kindergarten teacher is a class A I have had all 4 of my children in her class..my sons class has a grant that EVERY year the principle apples for and IS granted because THE SCHOOL is doing its job in PROPER education...my children started to learn how to read in kinder, and mind you that MOST schools and children do not learn OR know how to read until the middle of their 1st grade year..mind you not a lot of parents of active like My HusandNAND I.so if your looking for a awesome school were the teachers as well as the principle will dedicate themselves to give your children a PROPER education with out the hassle of politics, then look no further then HARMS...too bad it only goes up to the 5th grade...

Harms Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a teacher
We are the 11th highest rated school in the district and received an A from the state!! The teachers are dedicated and passionate. There are there are numerous after school programs. It truly is a family!!

Harms Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harms Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Harms Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Harms Elementary School 3

Posted November 12, 2007
- a parent
The Principal always carrying major activities she can not handle everything, this Harms School needs more support from the School District, kids deserve it, please do not exchange teachers to often this affect the education of our kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harms Elementary School
2400 Central Avenue, Detroit, MI  48209
(313) 849-3492
Last modified Harms Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harms Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top