Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
greatest school ever i learn something new everyday i love this school to death forever!!!!!!!

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a teacher
My school is great! I enjoy being a part of such a wonderful team of professionals and leadership. Our school goal is set daily to provide strategies, reinforcement, and determination to reach that academic mark of greatness.

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 3

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
This is a performing art school but they have band music. How can you be a performing art school if you do not have band. The school is getting over crowded with students. It is getting to the point where there is to many kids in a class room. I'm afraid my kids might miss out on their education if I let them stay there.

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted July 29, 2012
- a community member
i am a student at John R.King and I love it. Angelic Chorale(the schools top choir) directed by Mrs. Anderson recently came from performing at Carnegie Hall in New York. We had so much fun. This year will be my last year and i hope we see many more talented faces!

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
Best Detroit Public school their principle does not play!!

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
This school is an excellent school it brings out the best in children.

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a student
This was a challenging school and Ill never forget my 6th grade teachers who helped me along the way so I could succeed.

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 4

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
At first, I wasnt to excited about sending my daughter to a detroit public school as this being her first time attending school. But I love my daugthers teacher Mrs. Walker she is the best and I wouldn't trade her for the world. I'm have to say that there are some good Detroit public schools still out there just keep looking and give them a try. My daugther will be in first grade next year and I will continue to send her there until we move or she can't go there any more...

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy 4

Posted October 28, 2006
- a parent
The principal has done a 360 degree turn around with this school. When my oldest son (who's now 17) attended the school, it was literally off the hook. When I would volunteer in the classrooms, the teachers would spend 15 to 30 minutes (no lie) getting the students quite. I always questioned why his reading was so poor & found it was because phonics were not being taught. Now, my 7 & 8 yr old attend and they are just blossoming. I am so pleased with what Mrs. Hughes-Norde has done. They use a SRA reading model and they've gotten a handle on classroom behaviour. When I walk into the school, it's quite.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy
15850 Strathmoor St, Detroit, MI  48227
(313) 494-7347
Last modified King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
King John R. Academic And Performing Arts Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.