Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a teacher
Great parent participation at the Aug 23, 2014 open house. Look forward to a great school year.

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a teacher
Mark Twain is an excellent elementary school. The facility is in wonderful shape and well maintained I have been a teacher here for almost three years. I love the school, the students, the staff, the neighborhood and Great Administrators! The high quality staff under superb leadership deliver the best education. They are passionate and caring for their students. They have a great support system for children who need more help. They work with parents and provide support as much as necessary. The office staff, teachers, lunchroom ladies, specials teachers, and custodians everyone are very concerned for the welfare of the students. It is an IB (International Baccalaureate) school. Students learn respect, care and gratitude as a person and values that are important for their survival as a good human being. Mark Twain school's academic level is above average it has been always proactive in getting feedback from parents as well as students. This institution is a wonderful environment for any child to grow and prosper and I recommend it highly to all parents (who have kids in public schools of the same grades).


Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Mark Twain has great leadership on staff for my child. I like that the teachers care for my child and take time to explain to me how to support my child in her education. The staff treat me special and I feel like everyone genuinely cares for my family. My daughter has thrives since she attended Mark Twain and she loves going to school. She especially like the after school programs, Academic Games and Science Club. She has learned a lot and is eager to participate in all school activities...Morning Announcements, School-wide Harvest Day and Christmas Program. I love that she has friends and enjoys all the staff and the curriculum that they present to her. One of the best things she enjoyed is being a student helper to the Kindergarten class. She enjoyed helping the students and displaying their work in the hall showcase. Being a part of the Healthy Snacks Initiative has been great as well. She has become more fit with it and the beautiful play scape.

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 3

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
Mark Twain has potential. Every district has its problems. I have been privy to being on both sides of the fence. I work for Ecorse Public Schools and my children attend Mark Twain Elementary. Parental involvement is scarce, it seems, the older children get. This hurts our children. No teacher, administrator, secretary, or other staff member can be blamed for this. When you need a parent to assist, instead you're met with all of the reasons they can't. It's disheartening to watch. On the flip side, sometimes parents are desperately trying to help their children, but teachers are too busy....doing what? That's a part of the job. Like it or not. Then, the idiosyncrasies: no tissue, soap, kids fighting, teachers being indifferent - all these things impact students' performance. We ALL need to work together! P.S. I love Mrs. Scales and Mrs. Kozlowski.

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
Mark Twain is the perfect neighborhood school. There has been generations and generations of families attending Mark Twain. Most of the students are from the neighborhood and some travel from the other side of town so that they can have that homely feeling also. Mark Twain parent involvement is excellent. The quality of the Academic Programs are great, the teachers are 100% in educating the children and boosting their confidence to become sucessful. Mark Twain provides Physical Education Classes, Girls' and Boys' Basketball team and instrumental etc. So if your looking for a school to send your child to...Mark Twain is a perfect start for your child(ren) a brighter future.


Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2005
- a student
This is a great school I graduated from there. It is better than River Rouge school district.

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 2

Posted March 14, 2005
- a parent
The quality of the school has really gone downhill. I have had 2 kids through this school and the last year or 2 it has been a drastic reduction in the education of the kids. The school needs alot of up to date equipment to better prepare the children. Music and Physical education classes will also help kids learn. It stimulates their minds. The principal should see that grades have really gone down since music, physical education and a 'Real' science class is no longer in the school. I hope it gets back on track and become the school I once knew.

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School 5

Posted July 22, 2004
- a parent
Mark Twain School & Academy is the best elementary/middle school in Southwest Detroit. The teachers are devoted to not just the students but to the parents as well. IF a parent wants any information on how to help their child keep up grades or an update on how they are doing in class, teachers will with no hesitation inform the paents right away. My child is happy at Mark twain and I am happy for him.

Nearby schools

Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School
12800 Visger Street, Detroit, MI  48217
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (313) 386-5530
Last modified Mark Twain Elementary-Middle School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top