Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pasteur Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I would like to say Thank You to Ns. Nimmons and Ms. Matthews for all their hard work and determination. They are two teachers who are very bright and creative. My daughter Akeelah has always showed me that she loves been their even though she has limited speech. We love you Ms. Nimmons and Ms. Matthews !!

Pasteur Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I love my child teachers,they show that they care and willing to take that e xd tra step to get your child to their next potential.


Pasteur Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
The staff and teachers show compassion for their students. I came up for parent teacher conferences and everyone seems to know my child because of her beautiful smile and personality.

Pasteur Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
This school treats each child with intergrity. Each child has an opportunity to explore and be creative.

Pasteur Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I love Ms. Nimmons class she is a dedicated teacher. My daughter adores being in her class


Pasteur Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2015
- a community member
graduated in 1941- great school. No reason it still shouldn't be! Always met the janitor(?) by flag pole to raise flag in the morning. This still the practice? Hope so! Went on to Cooley- another great school. Then on to U of D. And Ford Motor after that. Roy Dirkes

Pasteur Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I went to Pasteur when I was kid,.All 3of my kids go there.My son is now in 11 grade I have a 2 daughter 3and 4 grade.

Pasteur Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
The media classifies all DPS schools as poor. Well, that's not true. Pasteur is an outstanding school with a highly respected reputation. The teachers, especially the higher grade teachers, are exceptional. My children, currently 14 and 19, attended Pasteur from kindergarten to sixth grade and had a quality education with very nurturing, talented, and highly knowledgeable teachers. The teachers had high expectations of their students and encouraged all to do and be the best. The work was challenging, but the teachers provided support (worked with students during class, lunch and after school.) My kids learned so much from Mrs. Phipps in 6th grade, especially Math, that when they went to middle school in the Troy school district they were placed in accelerated classes (the teachers and AP were surprised that they came from DPS.) Mrs. Phipps is an EXCELLENT TEACHER. My kids still talk about how she was the best teacher they have ever had and how she prepared them so well for middle and high school. If you want a GREAT Education for your children, enroll in Louis Pasteur Elementary School.


Pasteur Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs. I also like Pasteur because of its smaller size. My son attends Pasteur is like a smaller more tight knit community. Last year I believe Pasteur was rated a 6 .

Pasteur Elementary School 2

Posted September 03, 2011
- a parent
I would say leave her where she is at this point. My daughter attended Bates K-8 and she graduated from there in 2002. It was a great school then. We sent our younger daughter there in 2007 and we had to take her out in 2009. The teachers recommended that we move her to our home school district. The school has become out of control now. The is no accountability for the teacher's or the children and the class size is out of control. Please don't stunt her growth. If she is doing well please leave her there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pasteur Elementary School
19811 Stoepel Street, Detroit, MI  48221
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (313) 494-7314
Last modified Pasteur Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top