Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
Streetview?fov=70&size=130x130&location=18875+ryan+rd,detroit,mi+48234&sensor=false&client=gme-greatschoolsinc&signature=x1b6jak5cnrds7as2y6l2dmsgkw=

Pershing High School

GreatSchools rating:
Community rating:
Excellent Schools Detroit rating: No Grade
State rating: Red
9-12
District
Detroit MI

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Help this school win $5,000
by posting a review


17 reviews of this school


Pershing High School 4136181 1

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
Hello I am a former graduate of PHS 1996 and all I have to say is if you want you child to struggle through college then by all means send you child to this school if not PLEASE Dont send your child here!!!!

Pershing High School 3064609 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a teacher
The future of this school starts now! We are energized and ready to prepare your children for the future! The future of Detroit depends on the present situation in our classrooms!

Pershing High School 4614779 1

Posted August 12, 2011
- a student
I am a former student from Pershing. I spent my ninth grade year there and I have to say, it is not just the teachers fault. A lot of my teachers try to teach but the students are a constant bother and nuisance. Skipping class and not paying attention are the students' problems. The parent involvement is just down-right horrible. My dad works as the LSCO president and I see constantly, that there is extremely low parent involvement for simple things like checking up on students or going to parent-teacher conferences. This is not to say that it's not also the teachers' fault. I've seen that some teachers even sleep in there class (with students still in and class sessions going on). Cell-phones being used in class is also a constant issue. I just wouldn't recommend this school to ANYONE no matter how wonderful it was in the 1970s. All in all, it's the staff, students' and parents fault. This is not a satisfactory school. =(

Pershing High School 3924550 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 3899894 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 3635203 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 3548671 1

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 2903449 1

Posted December 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 2137883 3

Posted March 26, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pershing High School 2722999 2

Posted December 14, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools, Inc. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools Inc. All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pershing High School
18875 Ryan Rd, Detroit, MI  48234
(313) 866-7700
Last modified
Pershing High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.