Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thirkell Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My son has Mrs. Arneau for PreK/Kindergarten and she is Amazing! He is learning a lot and speaking more!

Thirkell Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Students here receive attention from great teachers who have a lot of experience. It's a little large, and its been around for a while but kids thrive here.

Thirkell Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
Both my older brother & I attended this school. I began in 1947 8 years after my brother. We both loved the school as well as the teachers at the time. Those were the days when high dump trucks used to drop off ton's of apples for all of us to take home. We were also given huge long squares of American cheese, larger then my arm, also free. Those were the days when the Duncun yoyo people used to come to school to demonstrate, the candy apple man, the ice cream man. We played marbles in the yard etc. It was a very nice school & I am happy to see it still is..

Thirkell Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
I am so sorry to say that my my daughter only attended Thirkell for only one year(5th grade)...she attended a charter school prior to this. There is no comparison between the two. I have found the Thirkell staff to be older and more experienced. The teachers have a love for teaching and the children. I have not found that to be the case in charter schools with their young inexperienced staff. . Great academics and extra curricular activities. This school really feels like the good old fashioned neighborhood school I grew up attending. I wish I had discovered this gem years ago. Dr. Smith is doing great things. I wish DPS would invest in a new building for this school.

Thirkell Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Thrikell is a great school that care about their students.The staff are friendly and helpful to students and parents.

Thirkell Elementary School 4

Posted April 11, 2008
- a community member
Thirkell is constantly improving and will become a gem for DPS under the guidance of Dr Clara Smith. I am a University of Michigan School of Education student and hope to one day have Thirkell students in my mathematics courses because they will be well prepared.

Thirkell Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2007
- a parent
Thirkell is a very good school for children to learn. The principal and staff are great!

Thirkell Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
I am very proud to say that my daughter has attended Thirkell Elementary since Pre-K and has graduated from the 5th grade this year. My daughter has had excellent Teachers at Thirkell, who are very committed to the students learning and academic growth. Thirkell has an excellent Computer Lab and Computer Science Teacher who has well prepared the students to function with the required computer skills that will be necessary in their educational endeavors. Thirkell has afforded their students with academic supplemental experiences such as Project Seed, Science and Engineering projects for the students through G.M. Dr. Smith, the Principle, is one of the best that you will find. She works hard to make sure that Thirkell Students receive the best academic experiences and programs along with establishing community partners. I believe that my daughter experienced a proficient educational foundation while at Thirkell and will excel in future academics.

Thirkell Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thirkell Elementary School
7724 14th Street, Detroit, MI  48206
(313) 596-0990
Last modified Thirkell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thirkell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.