Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western International High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 05, 2016
- a student
At my old school, I came home with alot of homework everyday. Now, I barely get any homework. It's probably why I can't understand what the teacher was trying to teach.

Western International High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a student
When I transferred there I can see why half of the students lost their motivation, It's because of the teachers lack of support and faith in the students


Western International High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 05, 2016
- a student
I'm not saying all the staff doesn't care about their students, but I feel like only a FEW staff members care about their students.

Western International High School 2

Posted July 05, 2016
- a student
I'm not saying that I'm better than everybody because I transferred to this school from Holly In March 2016... but to those that are considering to send your child there, as a student Western does suck. They don't have enough resources & they only have a FEW teachers that care about their students success. (Ex: When I went to go ask a teacher for help, all she said was "Ma'am you're wasting my time.") At my old school none of the teachers did that. Although most of the teachers grade their students work, they don't really hand the papers back to the students to see what they did wrong. In my opinion, most of the students are way more nice than the teachers. Just to add, When I transferred there in March, It took them all the way until June to put my transcripts in and almost messed my grades up. I'm not going to go into more detail because the school is not that bad, but If i could go back to my old school, I would.

Western International High School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
It's a very good school and I appreciate what the staff has done to help my child go to Brown University, thanks western


Western International High School 5

Posted December 05, 2010
- a student
I am a proud alumni of Western International High School. Initially my family did not want me to attend this high school because it was known for gangs and drugs. However, I knew things had changed, especially after Mrs Luna became Principle. I successfully graduated valedicotrian in my class with a 4.5 (AP classes) while I was involved in extra curricular activities like Journalism, Drama, Soccer, Student Council, Yearbook, and Steering Committee. I attended the Univeristy of Michigan-Ann Arbor for undergrad and am currently pursing a Master's Degree at the University of Southern California. I may not have gotten here without the foundations implemented by my high school and the support of some of the teachers.

Western International High School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student, who moved to Macomb and now attend Dakota High. Honestly, I would move back to Western in a heartbeat. The counselors are so much better, and the teachers are so involved. The best part is the diversity. The clicks are SO bad here. In Western, you have everyone with everyone. Here, they stress athletics more then academics. Western had both. I was a top student and when I came here, I ended up failing my pre-calc class. The teacher was always joking and yes you're hearing this right, juggling in class. I passed CALCULUS with a B in Western. These suburban schools aren't all what they claim to be. Of course there's gang activity, drugs, and fights. It's an inner-city school. But guess what. It's just as bad in the suburbs. At least in Western you have a sense of belonging. Proud Cowboy 4ever!!!

Western International High School 4

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
I'am a proud parent ..Western in my opinion is a good school.I'am with the pta,and with my involvement It helps alot to get things done If you have a problem.My daughter will be graduating this year. My family was worried because I put my daughter In this school they were scared of the gang activities,and thought she might not make it through,but she did and i like to thank mrs. Luna for her involvement In keeping the gang activities away from the school.I rate this school good


Western International High School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a student
The school is okay. Most of the teachers play favortism towards the overachievers.

Western International High School 4

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
As a transfer student to Western International I am extremely satisfied with the move. The college counselor Ms. Henry is the best thing that has happened to that school. Due to her dedication to student success I am attending a four year university with no out of pocket expenses. I LOVE YOU MISS HENRY!!

Nearby schools

Western International High School
1500 Scotten Avenue, Detroit, MI  48209
(313) 849-4758
Last modified Western International High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top