Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western International High School 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
It's a very good school and I appreciate what the staff has done to help my child go to Brown University, thanks western

Western International High School 5

Posted December 05, 2010
- a student
I am a proud alumni of Western International High School. Initially my family did not want me to attend this high school because it was known for gangs and drugs. However, I knew things had changed, especially after Mrs Luna became Principle. I successfully graduated valedicotrian in my class with a 4.5 (AP classes) while I was involved in extra curricular activities like Journalism, Drama, Soccer, Student Council, Yearbook, and Steering Committee. I attended the Univeristy of Michigan-Ann Arbor for undergrad and am currently pursing a Master's Degree at the University of Southern California. I may not have gotten here without the foundations implemented by my high school and the support of some of the teachers.


Western International High School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student, who moved to Macomb and now attend Dakota High. Honestly, I would move back to Western in a heartbeat. The counselors are so much better, and the teachers are so involved. The best part is the diversity. The clicks are SO bad here. In Western, you have everyone with everyone. Here, they stress athletics more then academics. Western had both. I was a top student and when I came here, I ended up failing my pre-calc class. The teacher was always joking and yes you're hearing this right, juggling in class. I passed CALCULUS with a B in Western. These suburban schools aren't all what they claim to be. Of course there's gang activity, drugs, and fights. It's an inner-city school. But guess what. It's just as bad in the suburbs. At least in Western you have a sense of belonging. Proud Cowboy 4ever!!!

Western International High School 4

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
I'am a proud parent ..Western in my opinion is a good school.I'am with the pta,and with my involvement It helps alot to get things done If you have a problem.My daughter will be graduating this year. My family was worried because I put my daughter In this school they were scared of the gang activities,and thought she might not make it through,but she did and i like to thank mrs. Luna for her involvement In keeping the gang activities away from the school.I rate this school good

Western International High School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a student
The school is okay. Most of the teachers play favortism towards the overachievers.


Western International High School 4

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
As a transfer student to Western International I am extremely satisfied with the move. The college counselor Ms. Henry is the best thing that has happened to that school. Due to her dedication to student success I am attending a four year university with no out of pocket expenses. I LOVE YOU MISS HENRY!!

Western International High School 3

Posted August 08, 2009
- a student
I am about to become a junior at this school and I have to say that I hope my last two years at Western will be better than the first two. There has been a change of leadership at the school having Mr. Vasquez from Earhart taking over from where Ms. Luna left off. I hope he can bring some order back to the school. Last year the students were pulling fire alarms to cut classes and riot about there beloved principal. It was chaotic and completely unneccessary. My biggest concern, however, is about the rising gang activity at the school. With more and more DPS schools closing, all of the low lifes and gang bangers are entering and doing as they please. This needs to be stopped ASAP before it gets out of hand...

Western International High School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
I am about to become a sophmore at this awesome school. My favorite part are the competitions that i have been to with the rough rider battalion and also we love our principal! she is the best principal ever!


Western International High School 3

Posted March 19, 2009
- a community member
I graduated from this school in 2007...we currently hold the record for the most money offered in scholorships... My honest opion of this school is that its all up to the person on how they make their experince there at western. There are some teachers that dont care and then there are the ones that do put much effort into trying to help a students future but dont get the recognition they deserve. My senior year was the first year that the uniform policy was placed... i think that this was a stepping stone to a better enviroment.. what will really make a big difference is placing a strict attendence policy! This will actually force students to attend school and actually could raise test scores!

Western International High School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
I love Western! I couldn't imagine going any where else. Its diversity is great and it offers access to so many scholarships!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western International High School
1500 Scotten Avenue, Detroit, MI  48209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (313) 849-4758
Last modified Western International High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top