Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
90 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 123 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bates Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
I am grateful for the respectful teachers, they made impacts on my kids lives,kids should know life is easy if you stay on the right path,and your superiors should be sympathetic to any realistic needs.

Bates Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
Theres a lot of HW but a good parent has no problem seeing that its done and I reward my kids, they love Bates


Bates Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
A lot of the kids are well behaved, Bates is big on bullying which is great.I see all my kids doing fine at Bates.

Bates Academy 4

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
Bates is a great school for education I feel my kids will definitely benefit,if we moved out of the city I would still want my kids to attend it could be better in a lot of ways some teachers are excellent some are just blatantly rude, staff could be A LOT BETTER,but as long as my kids are treated fairly I have no problem with that every school has its flaws.Overall its a great school but a lot of staff need to be replaced so people visiting will be thrilled about the school and not thinking its your typical Detroit school, 4 stars

Bates Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
It was too much when my child was in Kindergarten but I now see the value of it all. Especially compared to my other child in another school who hardly brings home any work. A parent has to make time and commit to ensuring that the children do their work.


Bates Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
The value and quality of instruction and homework ...to manage that alone- a student needs to develop these values otherwise one cannot be lazy and make it at Bates. It has done this to me as a parent too.

Bates Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Bates involves students in community activities that help develop positive values in children. I am glad to have my children at Bates. Parent volunteer opportunities also help students learn the value of 'doing for others' and giving their time to make a difference.

Bates Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My two children have attended Bates and we love it. The teachers are top notch....the curriculum prepares kids to be the best that they can be. I had my one child in a different nearby school this past year and I can assure you that he is nowhere near where my other child was academically at the same level (kindergarten) at Bates. We also love the other experiences at Bates- parent involvement, field trips and much more that add to the student overall experiences. My other child (at the other school) went on two local field trips (the whole academic year....). We LOVE Bates.


Bates Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My two children have attended Bates and we love it. The teachers are top notch....the curriculum prepares kids to be the best that they can be. I had my one child in a different nearby school this past year and I can assure you that he is nowhere near where my other child was academically at the same level (kindergarten) at Bates. We also love the other experiences at Bates- parent involvement, field trips and much more that add to the student overall experiences. My other child (at the other school) went on two local field trips (the whole academic year....). We LOVE Bates.

Bates Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
the teacher is not a very personable person at all she doesn't talk to the parents. She's the worst teacher my son ever had.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bates Academy
19701 Wyoming Avenue, Detroit, MI  48221
(313) 494-7000
Last modified Bates Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bates Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 123 reviews. Top