Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love this school and my children do too! They make you feel like family and they let the parents stay involved. They have wonderful afterschool abd Saturday programs.

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 4

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
Overall my children enjoy attending the school. The teachers are wonderful they try to educate the whole child.


Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology
no rating

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
This school has really done a tremendous job at creating an atmosphere that makes children feel safe enough to learn. The teachers care about the children and families that are part of the school. Leadership has shown very strong improvement and I appreciate the way that the staff interacts with my children and I. It feels good when children want to go to school and I don't have to drag them out of bed. if you are looking for a school that treats you like family and gives your children a quality education. You are looking in the right direction.

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
i think that every teacher care about each and every student and loves them as their own child.

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 4

Posted March 04, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school that is African centered and structured. Both of my children attended school here from the very beginning. I know because my son graduated from here 2 yrs ago. I had to enroll my daughter into another school and guess what !! I quickly reenrolled her back her. Our young people need structure and a eye opener for respect. You'll be sure to have a great relationshp with your child's teacher and that makes it even more exciting along with the wonderful academic acheivements here.


Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 4

Posted June 06, 2007
- a parent
This is a school that teaches the children by using the seven principles of nguzo saba which is very beneficial for African American children. Their curriculum is more aggressive than Detroit Public Schools. The staff treat the children and parents as family.

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 5

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
I personally loved this school. It gave our children a sence of who they were as a class of people.

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology 3

Posted November 02, 2006
- a parent
I have a son and daughter that goes here. This school has a lot of great teachers. They are African centered which is great, but other than the ceremonies and unity circle, I think it's a great school. They have an open door policy so go check it out!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology
10800 East Canfield Street, Detroit, MI  48214
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (313) 823-6000
Last modified Timbuktu Academy Of Science And Technology is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top