Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Universal Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a teacher
Congratulations to Universal Academy and to the HES Family for ranking as the 10th best high school in the state of Michigan according to the Mackinac Center for Public Policy's Michigan Public High School Context and Performance Report Card.

Universal Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a teacher
100% of UA graduates are accepted into college. We are also honored by the recognition and awards that distinguish Universal Academy from its peers and underscore our commitment to excellence, including: Detroit Skillman Foundation s Good School Award Title I Distinguished School of the Year (2010) Oakland University Compliance Award (annually since award inception in 2007): Detroit News School Report Card: Universal Academy ranked among best 5 high schools in Detroit Time magazine article, Detroit s Unlikely Saviors featuring Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh, UA Superintendent Michigan Charter School Administrator of the Year (2007): Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh, Superintendent Arab American Chamber of Commerce, Arab American Professional of the Year in the field of education (2010): Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh, Superintendent Lebanese American Heritage Club Outstanding Leadership and Service in Education Award (2010): Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh, Superintendent

Universal Academy 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
The teachers here need to go back and learn how to spell...But overall good school.
2 people found this helpful

Universal Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
All I have to say is that parents should get they're kids to this school. My child has been in this school for about 5 years and this is they're school when they got in the school they didn't even know one word ow they can even teach me !!!!!

Universal Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I rate this school a five star because it has great and cooperative teachers the programs are great. Also that they're are after school programs to teach student and parents learn English and get them better education. It's the best school ever! The only problem we have is that the school is small we need more space. And UA ALL THE WAY!!!!
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
First, the staff is very dedicated and genuinely concerned about student success. Second, the lunches are homemade and are excellent. In addition, there is technology implemented throughout the curriculum to keep students current. Each classroom gets computers for the whole class! There are also tablets available and the teachers have many of the classroom materials that they need.
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is K-12. It has a safe environment. Multicaltural school with a different programs. Also using technology in all calasses.

Universal Academy 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a small school. All teachers try their best to collaborate with one another. Some students careless and not listen to their teachers. As far as the admans, barely there is any communications and you would get lost between what they exactly need or want from you.

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a unique school in the city of Detroit. It is very welcoming to English language learners, especially those who speak Arabic. It is planning to build a brand new facility next year. Universal Academy is a k-12 school, with small class sizes, a large tutorial staff on board, dedicated teachers and administrators, and a commitment to quality education. The students are full of life and bring a wealth of cultural diversity with them. I see that Universal Academy families have much hope for the future and will work towards creating a successful path. High school students get the rare support of counseling and assistance in moving ahead to college, with scholarship opportunities researched and attained for many. Submitted by a teacher
1 person found this helpful

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a wonderful school. Teachers maintain high expectations of all students and work hard to collaborate and do what is best for each individual child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Universal Academy
4612 Lonyo Avenue, Detroit, MI  48210
(313) 581-5006
Last modified Universal Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Universal Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top