Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


Universal Academy 3

Posted July 19, 2014
- a teacher
I love working with these students. However, the teachers are now in fear of loosing their jobs because of test scores. A teacher, who worked there longer than 90% of the teachers in the building, had a great rapport with the students, and managed them well in the class just got fired because of her test scores. Any teacher, student, or administrator would explain how respected she was in the building. She fulfilled extra responsibilities just to help the administration. Unfortunately, none of them were asked before they did not renew her contract. There are other teachers in the building that do not teach the students and instead just scream at them. Some teachers have had physical altercations with students and they are still in the building. I am afraid of what this decision will do to the school system as a whole. Teachers may begin loosing focus on the students and instead only worry about the scantron test scores.

Universal Academy 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
The teachers here need to go back and learn how to spell...But overall good school.

Universal Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
All I have to say is that parents should get they're kids to this school. My child has been in this school for about 5 years and this is they're school when they got in the school they didn't even know one word ow they can even teach me !!!!!

Universal Academy 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I rate this school a five star because it has great and cooperative teachers the programs are great. Also that they're are after school programs to teach student and parents learn English and get them better education. It's the best school ever! The only problem we have is that the school is small we need more space. And UA ALL THE WAY!!!!

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
First, the staff is very dedicated and genuinely concerned about student success. Second, the lunches are homemade and are excellent. In addition, there is technology implemented throughout the curriculum to keep students current. Each classroom gets computers for the whole class! There are also tablets available and the teachers have many of the classroom materials that they need.

Universal Academy 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is K-12. It has a safe environment. Multicaltural school with a different programs. Also using technology in all calasses.

Universal Academy 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a small school. All teachers try their best to collaborate with one another. Some students careless and not listen to their teachers. As far as the admans, barely there is any communications and you would get lost between what they exactly need or want from you.

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a unique school in the city of Detroit. It is very welcoming to English language learners, especially those who speak Arabic. It is planning to build a brand new facility next year. Universal Academy is a k-12 school, with small class sizes, a large tutorial staff on board, dedicated teachers and administrators, and a commitment to quality education. The students are full of life and bring a wealth of cultural diversity with them. I see that Universal Academy families have much hope for the future and will work towards creating a successful path. High school students get the rare support of counseling and assistance in moving ahead to college, with scholarship opportunities researched and attained for many. Submitted by a teacher

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a wonderful school. Teachers maintain high expectations of all students and work hard to collaborate and do what is best for each individual child.

Universal Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
Universal Academy is a great school, wonderful teachers. I would recommend this to families in the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Universal Academy
4612 Lonyo St, Detroit, MI  48210
(313) 581-5006
Last modified Universal Academy is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Universal Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 54 reviews.