Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
Streetview?fov=70&size=130x130&location=4612+lonyo+st,detroit,mi+48210&sensor=false&client=gme-greatschoolsinc&signature=ytdypdr_g-muiigwhlp-yalxdha=

Universal Academy

GreatSchools rating:
Community rating:
Excellent Schools Detroit rating: F
State rating: Yellow
K-12
Charter
Detroit MI

2 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Help this school win $5,000
by posting a review


53 reviews of this school


Universal Academy 5247354 4

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
The teachers here need to go back and learn how to spell...But overall good school.

Universal Academy 5218348 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
All I have to say is that parents should get they're kids to this school. My child has been in this school for about 5 years and this is they're school when they got in the school they didn't even know one word ow they can even teach me !!!!!

Universal Academy 5091441 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I rate this school a five star because it has great and cooperative teachers the programs are great. Also that they're are after school programs to teach student and parents learn English and get them better education. It's the best school ever! The only problem we have is that the school is small we need more space. And UA ALL THE WAY!!!!

Universal Academy 5170659 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
First, the staff is very dedicated and genuinely concerned about student success. Second, the lunches are homemade and are excellent. In addition, there is technology implemented throughout the curriculum to keep students current. Each classroom gets computers for the whole class! There are also tablets available and the teachers have many of the classroom materials that they need.

Universal Academy 5168901 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is K-12. It has a safe environment. Multicaltural school with a different programs. Also using technology in all calasses.

Universal Academy 5167744 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a small school. All teachers try their best to collaborate with one another. Some students careless and not listen to their teachers. As far as the admans, barely there is any communications and you would get lost between what they exactly need or want from you.

Universal Academy 5166796 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a unique school in the city of Detroit. It is very welcoming to English language learners, especially those who speak Arabic. It is planning to build a brand new facility next year. Universal Academy is a k-12 school, with small class sizes, a large tutorial staff on board, dedicated teachers and administrators, and a commitment to quality education. The students are full of life and bring a wealth of cultural diversity with them. I see that Universal Academy families have much hope for the future and will work towards creating a successful path. High school students get the rare support of counseling and assistance in moving ahead to college, with scholarship opportunities researched and attained for many. Submitted by a teacher

Universal Academy 5166896 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a teacher
Universal Academy is a wonderful school. Teachers maintain high expectations of all students and work hard to collaborate and do what is best for each individual child.

Universal Academy 5166897 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
Universal Academy is a great school, wonderful teachers. I would recommend this to families in the community.

Universal Academy 5165298 4

Posted June 14, 2013
- a teacher
The teaching staff works and collaborates well with one another in their efforts to provide an enriched learning environment for all the students they serve.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools, Inc. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools Inc. All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Universal Academy
4612 Lonyo St, Detroit, MI  48210
(313) 581-5006
Last modified
Universal Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 53 reviews.