Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
176 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Loyola High School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Loyola allows the young men to succeed. Regardless of any obstacles they may have experienced. Loyola staff and administration really care for the students and treat them more like family than like students. It was a toss up between sending our son to Loyola or Brother Rice and because of the location, size and the warmth given at Loyola I think we chose the right school.

Loyola High School 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
This school prepared my child for life and the instructors truly care about the students. It is more so a family oriented environment than a school. Dont get me wrong, they do instruct the children but they learn much more from Loyola than academics. They learn how to treat others, humility, patience and brotherhood. I am thoroughly impressed. Dont let the surroundings deter you. Truly a diamond in the rough and whats better, they offer scholarships.


Loyola High School 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a community member
This is directed to the JV Football team and their coaches. I'm the grandmother of a JV football player (Anthony Tholl #54 - Linebacker), and when our team, Lapeer Lightning didn't have a team to play Thursday evening, Sept. 4 because the Flint team canceled the day before, Loyola agreed to come and play us. I want to commend the Loyola JV team and their coaches for playing a hard fought but highly respectable game (we won 14-8) and in the closing minutes Loyola played a great game trying to pull it out. The Loyola JV team played with integrity and extremely good sportsmanship. When one of our players was tackled, they would help him up or pat him on the top of the helmet when they got up on their own, waiting to make sure they were okay. When one of our players was down and injured, the Loyola JV team knelt down on one knee in a group until the player was removed from the field. Our grandson came off the field, saying it was probably one of the toughest, if not the toughest, game he'd ever played and commented on what a good team they are and how well they treated their opponents. Rosie Tholl Lapeer, MI

Loyola High School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
I'm a Loyola Alum and I feel that Loyola did an excellent job for preparing me for LIFE, I could of went anywhere to only be prepared for college but Loyola showed me how to become a man and a good student, needless to say I'm now a proud college grad and success in my career field. It all began at Loyola.

Loyola High School 3

Posted July 24, 2008
- a parent
My son has been at Loyola since 9th grade and he is doing well. The teachers and staff know each student by name and take an interest in the 'whole child'. My son is on the football team and he enjoys being in a place where he's not lost in a big school.


Loyola High School 4

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
I believed Loyola has given my son an opportunity to improve in all aspects of his academical endeavors. Loyola is trully a men for others school. In the beginning, it was difficult to convince my son that an all male school would be beneficial to him but as the 2 years have went by, he has noticed that it was more to his advantage. The classes are small and more personalized. The administration knows every student, their good and bad times. It's a few things lacking in the school but with the parent and administration relationship things will change for the better. Thanks to the staff, and the young men.

Loyola High School 4

Posted October 03, 2006
- a parent
This is my son's freshmen year at Loyola High School. I am so glad he was accepted at Loyola. He has improved tremendously and has a new outlook on receiving an education. The wonderful staff at Loyola genuinely care about their students unlike most teachers in public schools. I highly recommend an all boys private high school sector for any black male that resides in urban Detroit. All high schools have fights and conflict (which is the norm) however, it is ceased to a minimum at this school. I think it is absolutely amazing that ninth and tenth grade students schedules are extended (this is the most critical age when we lose most students). I am truly pleased with this school and thank them wholeheartedly for showing my son education is a wonderful blessing that should be embraced to become successful in life.

Loyola High School 4

Posted September 30, 2006
- a parent
I brought my son to Loyola when he had struggled for so long in other schools and people did not seem to believe he could achieve. He did that and then some at Loyola. I am so grateful for all the opportunities he was given. He is now succeeding in college.


Loyola High School 4

Posted April 22, 2006
- a parent
My son started his freshman year here. In my opinion he has obtained a quality education in the 2 years that he has attended. Leaving DPS and attending an all male facility, he had to make a major adjustment. Although I do not agree with some of the things that goes on in the school with the fairness of some students,hours of school day for the first 2 years,the location.There are lots of activites that the students are involved in and they have a great support staff at the school. The teachers are easy to talk to and this is the first time that I have been in a school where the staff knows all the students by name. Yes, you do have your fights and the normal things that goes on in high schools, but they try to keep them under control.

Nearby schools

Loyola High School
15325 Pinehurst Street, Detroit, MI  48238
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (313) 861-2407
Last modified Loyola High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top