Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Detroit, MI
Students enrolled: 697
Before care: No
After care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

41 reviews of this school


Warrendale Charter Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a community member
Warrendale staff works very hard to give the students the education they need to succeed. They work as a team to make Warrendale and possitive place for one another to be.

Warrendale Charter Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a teacher
Great things are happening at Warrendale. I have been a paraprofessional at Warrendale for 10 years and I'm excited about where we are going! We have had the enormous fortune to add to our staff Mrs. Kimberly Flowers 4th grade. I know just how amazing and life changing she can be, since she was 5th grade teacher to two of my children at another school. My youngest son is in the 10th grade at the Roper school for the gifted. and he still keeps her honor roll certificate on the cork board in his room. My daughter now a senior in high school at Southfield Christian and when she was preparing for the ACT she practiced by singing "Mrs. Flowers songs". I have watched her this year as she has begun to have that same amazing effect on Warrendale students. Her class is well managed and they always seem to be immensely engaged. To top it off she has the assistance of an awesome new paraprofessional Mrs. Slaughter. Mrs. Slaughter is compassionate, intelligent, and extremely professional. The fourth grade team has a tremendousl team. I would simply say they are a dynamic duo!!! Go Warrendale !! great things are happening!!

Warrendale Charter Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a teacher
I feel that Warrendale is in such great hands with the new administration team that is in place this year. Mr. Glass leads the school in a positive direction. All of the teachers strive to see every child succeed. College Bound is the focus and every child is told that they will go to college. The hope is planted like a seed inside their hearts, and it's a delight to watch that seed get watered every year. By the time they graduate from Warrendale, that seed has bloomed, and students are writing to explain which college they desire to go to.

Warrendale Charter Academy 2

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
I feel that Warrendale would be a better school if they had a principle that cared more about the children then just getting a pay check. Ms. Welch the principle, hardly ever return phone calls. And when you talk to her about incidents that happens with teachers or herself, she finds a way to blame the kids or the parents. This was a much better school before she got there. Most of all the kids that was there when she got there left and went to Premier academy. The principal at Premier was the assistant principal at Warrendale. It was a much better school when the principal at that time and him was there. There were good teachers like Mr. Monroe the math teacher, who found a way to make the kids enjoy math. He has since transferred, but he was there long before Ms. Welch got there. They still have some good teachers there but they are leaving by the handful. It could also have something to do with the talk about gangs in the school now, not sure. My prayer is that this school gets it together because a mind is a terrible thing to waste.

Warrendale Charter Academy 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a teacher
This school is the worst school in history. It may seem wonderful but when your child gets in 6th grade and up. Your going to her a lot of bad things wrong with this school. This school will give you taped up foods. Punctured foods and half cooked or old foods. The school is so bad that they get a new principle every year or two. This school has mice and rats and is very unsafe. Germs every where because desk and chairs and table are NEVER wiped down. Teachers threaten young children and older children. Anything bad you can think of. This school is lie juvinile. Or jail. The food is unhealthy and so is the school

Warrendale Charter Academy 2

Posted February 13, 2013
- a community member
The principal mrs. harwood is the worst principle ever ms reed is mean ms woods is allful

Warrendale Charter Academy 3

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
Warrendale has outstanding caring teachers. My sons were in third grade last year and they had their best year ever. Mr. T. went above and beyond for my boys. High teacher turnover suggests leadership or NHA problems.

Warrendale Charter Academy 3

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
This is my children's first year at Warrendale and so far I like the school. The teachers, dean, and principal have been very helpful and understanding when it comes to my children's health issues. My children were in the hospital and the teachers called everyday to check and see how they were doing, and sent cards and goodies to cheer them up. I believe my children will excel and have a great learning experience and Warrendale Charter Academy!

Warrendale Charter Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2010
- a teacher
Wonderful things are happening at Warrendale this year. A strong focus is being placed on the individual student and the ways that they learn best. A positive discipline program is in place that will keep the students wanting to return to school each day. Workshop based learning will allow teachers to work in small groups with students while giving the children choices to learn independently as well as in small groups to keep them engaged. There are brand new textbooks and a wide variety of technology that exceeds area schools to bring children well into the 21st century. Students at Warrendale will become self-directed learners who will learn to meet and exceed grade level expectations not just at our school, but through high school. Warrendale students are college bound! We don't just capture their minds, we will capture their hearts and give them a love of

Warrendale Charter Academy
no rating

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent
Warrendale is a great school at the elementary level, but once the children reach middle school it's another world. Parents are really happy until their child(ren) reach this point. The school does not get the children It's nice tohear good things about a school, but it's also good to hear the truth. Why sugar coat it?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Warrendale Charter Academy
19400 Sawyer Street, Detroit, MI  48228
(313) 240-4200
Last modified Warrendale Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Warrendale Charter Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top