Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Michigan Technical Academy Elementary
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
The teachers only show respect and compasion and that is certain teachers.I love Mrs D and Mrs Layne really shows me thier are good teachers.

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Certain teachers show caring and compasion along with wanting your child to do thier best


Michigan Technical Academy Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Layne,she is very good to my son and i can not forget Mrs D,she is the best!!!!

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
MTA does not completely be honest with all serious matters.Thier front desk help are i would say weird and seem to appear that they are afraid to voice their opinions and when they do they are stiff in the body .

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 1

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My first concern is their is bullying in this charter school and second their security is,well..i have no words for it.Just fourty eight hours ago outside the school grounds where all the parents pick-up & drop-off thier children i am a victim of theft!! Yes i said theft and it all was on camera but for some odd reason i still do not have evidence of the camera footage..still waiting. However its fine and good,i made a police report and my child will not b attending MTA next semester. I feel violated and unsafe for me and my son.MTA's care for the children and the parents goes straight out the window.My main concern is why do i have to wait on a video footage??.Its ok,their reputation is not what it is.Please do not enroll your child here,there will b harsh surprises waiting for you later.I'm not a happy parent and its sad.


Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Irres ponsible staff members. Students are in danger at this school. I plan on taking my grandkids out of this school. The education is of no value and there is too much bullying in this school.

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 2

Posted July 29, 2013
- a teacher
I taught at this school as a substitute teacher. Though the school has a nice "look" to it, the inside tells a different story. Teachers had to keep their purses locked up in their cars because someone, I don't think they found out who, was stealing money from the teachers. Even the kindergarten students were out of control. The kids love to have excitement but to the detriment of their studies. I remember one particular student who was in second grade and didn't know how to read. The administrators seemed okay but because it is a charter school, decisions are based on preserving the number of students so that funds will be redistributed the following year. I had one class where I taught, in May and the students hadn't opened their books in one subject all year long. Why? The teacher was stressed out because she couldn't control the class. Teachers at this school are, as is normal in charter schools, underpaid and overworked. A lot of students come from single-parent homes. I would suggest that the school pay their teachers a little more, or hire more male teachers and role models.

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school! My daughter and son attend here and we are so happy! There is a dynamic NEW PRINCIPAL -- the old one is gone -- who is focused on being the best, and the staff are fantastic. I could not be more satisfied. I think this will be the best school in Detroit in a couple of years. We won't be going anywhere else.


Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 1

Posted October 27, 2012
- a parent
My children were enrolled in this school for a little over one semester. After about the first two months, I immediately began searching for a new school. Their teachers are negative (yelling at students). Their administrators lied to me on several occasions. Their communication notices are condecending to parents. I found this school to be very unfriendly and misleading...even a bit dangerous. Not a good place for children.

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a community member
ii was a student there it really hurt me when i had to leave i hope i can at lleast go back for 8th grade im geting a little depresed from leaving that school been away for to years i hope this wont be my third because i go to high school after that and mta stops at 8th no one understands how much that would kill me inside. I miss you MTA

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Michigan Technical Academy Elementary
19940 Mansfield Street, Detroit, MI  48235
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (313) 272-1649
Last modified Michigan Technical Academy Elementary is a Charter school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top