Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cesar Chavez High School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
c sar Ch vez Academy is getting better and better every year. Increasing ACT scores, less dropout rates and better communication between students and staff. As an example we can put one of the students getting into the top nation universities. It was a great achievement for the community and for Cesar Chavez. KEEP IT UP CCA!

Cesar Chavez High School 3

Posted March 19, 2012
- a student
There's a few point i'd like to make. School isn't a daycare center. If girls are getting pregnant young it isn't because their school sucks, therefore the school shouldn't get the blame for it. Teachers are there for support, but they aren't the parents, the first teachers in a kids life. This doesn't make them less successful either, it just makes it more difficult, but these girls are smart and can still have a bright future ahead if they want to. Just because the school doesn't have enough textbooks doesn't make it a bad school. A student fails or is successful because of how well they took advantage of their resources. A student can fail even with all the books in the world, if the student isn't going to try then its no use. Books aren't the only way to succeed, there are more ways of teaching the necessary material. So i must give props to the teachers at CCA because they do a good job. The classrooms are crowded because of all the schools that are shutting down, so it isn't necessarily our fault rather the schools shutting down right? Education is free yet limited aparently. If the student sets their mind to it they will succeed wherever they are. CCA is a good school.
1 person found this helpful

Cesar Chavez High School 1

Posted December 27, 2011
- a community member
CCAHS has systemic problems that make it a failing school! The profit minded corporate management and administration created a school more concerned with profits than education. Overcrowded classrooms with inadequate resources puts profits over students. The lack of qualified educational leadership was reflected in the decision to fund a football program (to boost enrollment and profits) ignoring that the school lacks a school library, a science lab, a special ed classroom, even textbooks that can be taken home for homework. Student behavior is a real problem, gang affiliation and teen pregnancy are common due to administration s reluctance to discipline and risk losing students. Overall, the school has too many problems to provide a quality education.

Cesar Chavez High School 4

Posted August 27, 2009
- a student
CCA is warm, safe & friendly. Its very different from every other school i've attended. The teachers try to understand where each student is coming from & they keep in mind the daily challenges we face. The positives is that: Many many scholarships come to our school. Its college prep& there's alot of activities and extra curriculum @ our school. The principal is always up for new ideas & he's very understanding. The negatives: WELL, For some reason there is many pregnant females at our school. Most have graduated or will be graduating this year. I can say that the pregnancy rate has dropped. I went from seeing 1 out of every 35 girls pregnant to about 1 out of every 100. That comes from alot of the parents not being involved. But if there is help from both sides then you'll do well here. Keep up the good work

Cesar Chavez High School 0
no rating

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
CCAHS has evolved as one of the best High Schools in Detroit. The school has become data driven so that students can get the pinpointed help they need. They are starting to get recognitigned throught Detroit and the state for there efforts. The negative side is, that students are very involved in helping out at home with income, so that makes it difficult for the teachers because student attendance becomes sparatic, low homework ratio becomes evident. I like the fact there are few textbooks because education should not come just from a textbook, teachers at CCA seem to be creative in how they teach the material to students. Anyways as a parent I am very pleased with the school. Keep up the good works and continue to improve like you have been.

Cesar Chavez High School 3

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
CCAHS is an okay school if you are in the area. It just needs more support. The positives: The school offers a warm environment, it's small, there are a few good teachers. The negatives: Very few textbooks come home, and parental involvement is low.

Cesar Chavez High School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a teacher
I believe CCAHS has come a long way in educating children. More Seniors are graduating by more importantly they are earning scholarships and going to college. The atmosphere is the building is outstanding and the kids seem to enjoy being in school. Much has been done to help students become successful on standarized exams. Keep up the good wor CCA, eventually the school with meet AYP.

Cesar Chavez High School 5

Posted June 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cesar Chavez High School 5

Posted November 16, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cesar Chavez High School 5

Posted October 08, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cesar Chavez High School
1761 Waterman Street, Detroit, MI  48209
(313) 551-0611
Last modified Cesar Chavez High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cesar Chavez High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top