Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wright Charles School 4

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
I did a lot of research looking for a good Kindergarten program (in Detroit) to place my son in and found that Wright rated very high across the board. I definitely see improvement in my son's knowledge and I have no issues with the school at all. My one complaint is that they do not take advantage of their drop-off curve and so what happens is parents use the small parking lot to drop off their children and this blocks other parents in, this however, is not the schools fault. All in all, it has been a pretty good experience for my son and he will be returning next year for 1st grade.

Wright Charles School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
My child is full of extreme high energy and I must thank his teacher Ms. Anthony (108) for being patient and understanding.


Wright Charles School 1

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
If I could give this school lower than one star I would. there is only one word that describe this school and staff, UNPROFESSIONAL. I noticed most of the reviews are old, this is my son first school experience and with this help of this school staff my kid now hates school. They call every one but the parent first when something is "wrong" they were under staffed but failed to make me aware of that so a computer teacher was teaching a kindergarten class, who had no patience. Seems like they give kids work without actually trying to help them understand it. The assist in the front office is rude, I was lied to about important information, and wasn't giving the correct info until I called the district. Needless to say my son will not be attending next year, I wish I could switch him now. Now I understand why my mom worked so hard for us to not attend Detroit public schools. my kids will never be in this district again. These teachers are clearly only here for a check.

Wright Charles School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
Absolutely LOVE this school when it was Dow Elem to the movement into the new bldg Charles Wright. Both my kids attended this school. The staff, teachers and principal were great. I loved how the principal Mrs. Sylvia Green took time in the morning & afternoon to assist with students entering & being dismissed from the building. She built relationships with her parents & didnt think she was too good to stand out in the cold like all the other staff. CWA had more parents than I had ever seen coming out to PTA mtgs. I found that the parents that took time to get to know their child's teachers, volunteered at the school when possible & interacted were much happier with the schoo & its curriculum. The complaint parents were the ones that never took time to come up to the school to see how their child was progressing or attend any meetings, parent/teacher conferences, etc. I loved the teaching staff, monthly programs, the principal interaction, etc. I did not like how only a select few of parents would have the courage to assist with unruly students during dismissal while most stood around and watched. It takes a village to raise a child. CWA had a standard that made the school great.

Wright Charles School 5

Posted March 11, 2011
- a parent
Although my children no longer attend this school I miss it. The school they attend now doesn't compare to Charles Wright. Charles Wright is a jewel in the DPS. I am sad Ms. Green is no longer principal but I met the new principal Mrs. Davis and I think she has big shoes to fill in Ms. Green's place. I thought the PTG was good with raising money for the school, getting parents involved and informing parents. The president Ms. Crowler was nice and she seemed to know everybody including the kids. I really enjoyed the time my children spent at Charles Wright. The MEAP scores were high, they met AYP and received Apple awards and a Skillman grant for being a great school. There were members of the DPS board coming out to support the school which was nice. They put on a nice program even 5th grade graduation was like being at a college ceremony. They really made the kids feel special. I enjoyed the picnics, lunch with the principal, the mentor program, chess program, etc. I miss Charles Wright and I hear with all the school closings Ms. Green retirement that the school standard has dropped. I guess change came with a new principal. Wish Mrs. Davis a good year and I hope she does well.


Wright Charles School 4

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
My daughter, (second grader at Charles Wright-1st year) enjoys school. She made me promise she could stay until she completes all grades. Principal Davis is open to improving the educational environment; she listens to parents &makes every effort to do what s best. Of course, not all parents feel this way, but no one can be all things. Parent conferences are well attended; is that not GREAT! This school is a DPS gem. It ranked in the top 5 (Excellent Schools Detroit) and scored 6 (Great Schools); test scores-WOW! I believe they scored 6 because of the limited afterschool programming; we re working on that. PTG/Educators are increasing parental involvement, starting a fitness class; some teachers stay to participate we are slowly increasing involvement. Parents often don t have a gauge as to teacher s abilities -the homework, I get it. My child has the confidence to do it on her own &I check it (she gets it too). Obviously, her teacher (Ms. Potapeko) teaches. The packages challenge her &I enjoy watching her use the robust words, like procrastination-big words for 2nd graders. The goal is for them to understand how to use the words. Keep up the good work Wright Educators!

Wright Charles School 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
My son is in one of the autism classes at Charles Wright. He has attended this school since 1st grade. Now he is in the 3rd grade. He has made tremendous strides under the direction of his teacher, Ms. Suzanne Erbes and teacher aide, Mrs Kimber-Rose. My son loves going to school and I don't know what I would do without them working with my son the way that they do. Charles Wright is an awesome school and I recommend it to anyone that needs a school and staff that truly care about the well being of your child(ren). Charles Wright is filled with staff that do not just care for the children because it is their job but because they truly care about the them.

Wright Charles School
no rating

Posted November 26, 2009
- a parent
My child is in the Pre-K program and I love, he teacher is wonderful and I can see how he good he is doing with expanding his ideas and he growth.


Wright Charles School 5

Posted December 13, 2008
- a parent
My child attened this school from second to fifth grade in special ed and I loved this school. My son is a handful and they dealt with excellently. I recommend this school to parents all of the time, I wish it went to eighth grade, I would send him back there.

Wright Charles School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
I submitted a review on Sept 8th about my son's 2nd week at Charles H. Wright. While I love my son's teacher (Ms. Traylor), the progress that he's making and the level of the class material; I have to admit that the discipline of the children before school leave little to be desired. I do my part to try to keep children in line, break up fights, help children that seem to be in distress but I get little support from the other parents standing around. Because this school is named after a prestigious gentleman that was an upstanding Dr. and Detroit citizen, my feeling is that the school needs to embody this man's legacy. I don't feel this is occuring. There are little boys that look like and carry themselves like little bullies. Pants sagging and oversized, foul language and lack of respect for adults. Jennifer Floyd

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wright Charles School
19299 Berg Road, Detroit, MI  48219
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (313) 538-3024
Last modified Wright Charles School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top