Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakland International Academy - Elementary 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
I love this school and the teachers and the staff. amazing school so much learning experiences for my children.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
My kids enjoy the school. They feel safe and i feel safe sending them there. They are learning a lot more than in their previous school. The staff is friendly and the school has a lot of new books and many other materials that the kids bring home to supplement learning. I love the school.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 2

Posted July 06, 2011
- a teacher
I worked at the elementary school as a Resource Room teacher a few years ago. During that time, I provided all my own materials. I felt as if I was a one woman show and would have liked to connect more with teachers and management. I felt very close to the children and tried to give them my very best. However, I know with better materials(sequential/phonics) I would have had more of a chance for successs. Being older and wiser, I wonder what it would be like to teach there again. I would of course expect a certain amount of support from management. All the best to the families and children.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter goes there..Very bad communication Teachers are trying but they said they are not supported by the management or the board. Curriculum is not challenging at all. This is will be the last year I am sending my child there. It is just disappointing new teachers, new staff every year

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
Yes, a small school...but no effort of improvement. The school does not offer any AP and Honors classes. It does not have any (Speech and Debate) program. The school does not offer any athletics program, or clubs that you can join. My child as said lately they even canceled all the field trips. They are not hiring a quality teachers or staff.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 2

Posted January 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 5

Posted June 10, 2008
- a community member
I truly feel that our students are very well behaved and that our teachers are constantly learning new school improvement strategies. We all comunicate with each other on a very high level. Everyone is respected and no child is left behind.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 1

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
My daughters went there last year. I was very disappointed. The teachers were good but the principal showed no consistency or organization at all. She is the reason I decided not to send my daughters back this year. I'm very happy with their new school. I wish I would have never sent them to Oakland International Academy.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 2

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakland International Academy - Elementary 1

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakland International Academy - Elementary
4001 Miller Street, Detroit, MI  48211
(313) 923-0790
Last modified Oakland International Academy - Elementary is a Charter school that serves grades 2-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakland International Academy - Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top