Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Detroit Premier Academy 2

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
As far as the teaching goes, it's great, I liked Mr. Gabowitz my daughter 3rd grade teacher and Ms.Williams.....don't expect your children to come in the school in the SNOW ,RAIN, hail, sleet or any inclement weather...it could be -10 degree outside and you'll see ALL the teachers and a lunch aide with his kids SAFE AND SOUND inside the school and the poor students outside freezing.. NOT COOL!!! I have called in and even spoke with the principal and had board meeting NO CHANGE...

Detroit Premier Academy 4

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
I am very pleased with Detroit Premier Academy. This is my children's first year in the school, but my son that failed 2nd grade at his previous school, is now excelling. My daughter is doing wonderfully in 1st grade! I appreciate the time that is taken with my children by both of their teachers.


Detroit Premier Academy 1

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
They very poor academic wise with children they don't want to have a meeting about your child's progress until it's to late to make a change. It's as if here's your child's grade deal with it. No help at all send your child here at your own risk!!!!

Detroit Premier Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a community member
Wow, I have never been to a school where you can feel the love! The principal is dedicated and hard-working. I saw him serving lunch, cleaning out in the front of the building, directing traffic!!! Man, he really cares!!!!

Detroit Premier Academy 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
My school is the best school ever. The reason way i say my school is the best is because the teachers care about you for every thing that you need help they will help you out no matter what you are doing.so that is way i think my school it that best


Detroit Premier Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
This school has very unprofessional staff from the principal to the lunch staff. They talk the talk of praising your kings and queens they may teach them great academics, customer service skills are lacking.

Detroit Premier Academy 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
Detroit Premier Academy is a wonderful school. I took my brother out of Detroit Pubilc Schools and brought him to this school. The principal at Detroit Premier Academy is excellent, because he talks to the students and keep them inline.

Detroit Premier Academy 1

Posted June 21, 2012
- a teacher
I taught at this school. It was a total mess from a staffing and administrative standpoint. It was a joke...and very sad to see that this is pretty much the best that Detroit can offer as far as an education is concerned. Leaving this school was a complete blessing for my career.


Detroit Premier Academy 1

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Hello my children currently attend this school and I am very upset how the some of the staff does not care about the students and do not take responsbility for any wrong that they do. It is always the parents or students problems. And out of 78 8th grades only 32 are passing. But Ms.Qasem is the best teacher there and Ms. Thomas is second.

Detroit Premier Academy 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! I have four children in this school. One in K, 2nd, fourth, and sixth grade. Their principle is a very hardworking young man that I have never seen before. My children have been to different schools in the past. The difference is clear. I will recommend Detroit Premier Academy to any body. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Detroit Premier Academy
7781 Asbury Park, Detroit, MI  48228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (313) 945-1472
Last modified Detroit Premier Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top