Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Old Redford Academy - High 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
If you are a parent and thinking about enrolling your child in this school, RUN don't walk away!! They claim to have a dress-code after the first week of school you see the boys pants sagging without their belts, the teachers have no control in the classroom or in the hallways, their security guards are hardly ever at a post in case of an emergency, on the junior high part at least its a few teachers that stand on the outside and to watch the children safely to their parents cars. But on the high school side the parking on the Outer Drive side is awful !! There is fights break-outs constantly, so if you're looking for a school with education as the first priority for your child Look Further!!

Old Redford Academy - High 5

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
Great charter school. It's like a free private school. Some parents complain about how the school has too many rules ,yet those same parents will let there kids dye there hair and wear accessories that aren't allowed.

Old Redford Academy - High 5

Posted July 01, 2010
- a community member
Besides the lack of speech it's a pretty nice school,the teachers are nice but the school overall is very strict.

Old Redford Academy - High 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
My son has attended ORA for 3 yrs and I have found the academics are excellent. as long as the students apply themselves they excel. Parent access (Skyward) is a great concept, but it is not updated regularly.

Old Redford Academy - High 5

Posted January 19, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Old Redford Academy - High 0
no rating

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
im a sophomore here at ORA. This is my second year at this school and I believe it isnt so bad. Last year as a freshmen i managed to maintain at least a 3.5 for all cardmarkings. This year I am currently a geometry and english honors student. overall, this school may not be so great but the school is improving every year to make things better

Old Redford Academy - High 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
I think its a wonderful school. I love the dress code and the strict discipline. I send both of my kids their and they have had a positive experience. My son is on the basketball team and has a 3.8 GPA. And my daughter has a 3.4 GPA. Education comes first and other activities come second.

Old Redford Academy - High 0
no rating

Posted July 18, 2009
- a parent
I think that school is what you make of it, I think that this is a very good school, if you want extra activities there are always things in the neigborhood .

Old Redford Academy - High 0
no rating

Posted June 05, 2009
- a community member
this school is the most boring school to attend. they worry more about the boys hair lenghth then ther education. When it come to school sports and extra curicular activities thers no good thing kids would want to do and they dont care about the football team at all.

Old Redford Academy - High 1

Posted May 17, 2009
- a parent
this is the worst school ever i suggest no one take there child here if they want them to have a good eduation

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Old Redford Academy - High
8001 Outer Drive, Detroit, MI  48235
(313) 543-3080
Last modified Old Redford Academy - High is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Old Redford Academy - High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top