Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This is in response to the parent who had a concern about discipline. I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concern. My name is Carolyn Brown, and I am the new Principal at Lincoln-King Academy. The safety of our students is of the utmost concern, and I apologize that the situation was handled in a way that was unsatisfactory to you. We stress the importance of making sure all children are in school and class, where they learn not just academic material but also about the character traits we work hard to instill in our students. Please know that we work hard to proactively deal with any situations or conflict that occur. As the new principal of the Lincoln-King Academy, I would be happy to discuss any remaining concerns with you. Please contact (313) 862-2352 if you would like to meet. Again, thank you for sharing your story with us.
December 5, 2012

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln-King Academy 4

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
Hello. My child has been a student at LKA since preschool. She is now in the fourth grade. I have referred my family and friends to allow their children to attend this excellent school. I now have a two children,a niece, a nephew, two cousins that attend there. I love that they say the pledge of allegiance in the morning like i did as a child. I would have given the school 5 stars but the after school activities has not started yet and its almost the end of the year. Previous years the activities started when school started and i loved that. They as also had more to choose from in the previous years. My children looked forward to their after school activities when school started and so did I.

Lincoln-King Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
It is a excellent school the staff teachers are so nice and helpful they are very organized a great school for your kids and my son loves it there.

Lincoln-King Academy 4

Posted October 17, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending this school for 2 years, so far so good. No complaints.

Lincoln-King Academy 4

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Lincoln King Academy is a very great school is very will perform was great performance from teachers students the activities that they have for students are great Lincoln King Academy has a lot to offer to your to child

Lincoln-King Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
We love Lincoln-king academy! This is a wonderful place to learn academics and character. Go cornerstone charters

Lincoln-King Academy 4

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Keep up the good work staff and teachers. Everyone is talking about the improvement. The culture at the school is great the student are learning more.i

Lincoln-King Academy 4

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
This is the first school that has offered my son a challenge. I am thankful for this opportunity.

Lincoln-King Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a community member
I've been impressed by the wonderful new team at LKA as they create a wonderful learning culture! Mrs. Brown has really done a great job getting the team all working together. We look forward to seeing all the wonderful results for the students in 2015!

Lincoln-King Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a community member
This school has an amazing culture. From the moment you walk through the door you are treated with respect, and you know that the children are being educated with love. I think this is what all parents want from a school.
1 person found this helpful

Lincoln-King Academy 1

Posted October 02, 2013
- a community member
I am angry to say the least. My grandson was struck in the lip and right about now, come tomorrow the school BETTER HAVE ANSWERS as to why his mother was not informed that he was bleeding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln-King Academy
13436 Grove Street, Detroit, MI  48235
(313) 892-1860
Last modified Lincoln-King Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lincoln-King Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top