Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Health School 3

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
The school was ok, need more parent participation. It is newer and just had first graduating class

Cornerstone Health School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Jackson, the English teacher who developed the senior defense project that is required in order to graduate. the project better prepared them for college. Ms. Prince for coming into the school and giving the seniors an opportunity to apply to any college they wanted without the financial burden of fees, and doing the best she could under the circumstances. She is the only guidance counselor for the school.


Cornerstone Health School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
I feel it depends on the student. Some student were there to learn and prepare for college and the teachers were very effective. However, you had an equal number of students who are just there taking up space with bad attitudes and no respect for themselves or the teachers. Waiting for the day they can walk across the stage whether they earned the right to not

Cornerstone Health School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
The new teachers that were brought in this semester are awesome. The students were given an average of 2-3 hours a night, in homework

Cornerstone Health School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
For those students that are there to learn yes, but you have a lot of students who have lackluster attitude about their education


Cornerstone Health School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
Again the teachers try, but when you have a principle that makes idol threats regarding academics and graduation it's hard to develop respect for administration

Cornerstone Health School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
I feel you have teachers that try, but a lot of these characteristics should be learned at home and reinforced at school. Lack of parent participation and students home environment makes it hard for the teachers to achieve that goal

Cornerstone Health School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a community member
I feel the school has great teachers who work very hard to develop these characteristics in the students. However, from what I have seen and heard, administration and teachers are not alway on the same page.


Cornerstone Health School 1

Posted January 09, 2016
- a student
I am a Junior at this school and it has been the worst experience. For starters there are wayyy to many students to only have one counselor. Secondly, the children here are extremely rude, they swear in front of everyone, they do not care about their appearances and or grades. Only a handful of students are actually good people, and I truly feel sorry for them. I am getting out of this school as soon as possible. Please to not let the nice appearance of the building fool you like it did me and my mother.

Cornerstone Health School 1

Posted January 12, 2015
- a community member
STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!!!! I am a student (freshman) who attends CHTHS and if you are given the opportunity of a school with better education, take it! You basically sit and take computerized tests all day, which I am at least 99.9% positive will not bring you any new knowledge that you have already learnt from middle school. I feel like an outsider at this school because I feel as if I am the only one who really cares about their grades. Also, the school still seems like it's in the process of being developed. The only thing I like about this school is that it's small, which can also be a bad thing, depending on how you look at it.

Nearby schools

Cornerstone Health School
17351 Southfield Fwy, Detroit, MI  48219
(313) 486-4626
Last modified Cornerstone Health School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-11
Top