Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dewitt High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Well this is a touch one. For the younger kids the amount is about right, for the older grades the expectations are high. I would like to see less, but then would they be as prepared for college?

Dewitt High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
I would consider my kids to be average academically, but have been impressed how the teachers have pushed them to try harder. .


Dewitt High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Have had the opportunity to interact with a number of kids in the high school. I have been so impressed by their maturity and readiness for the real world.

Dewitt High School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
My kids have had an excellent academic experience. While we have had one teacher that was not top notch, the rest have been above expectations (That is good odds). The administration and Board seem to be sensitive to the community needs and progressive in finding ways to improve the teaching experience. In reviewing places to live in the Greater Lansing Region, I strongly believe that this is not a better school system in the area.

Dewitt High School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
I'm glad I'm not the only paren that sees through the hiding district. The schools'/district's NUMBER ONE CONCERN is THEMSELVES (read: LIABILITY). They will do whatever it takes to skirt out of responsibility from turning the blame to someone else or avoid parents like the plague. you've got a 140k/yr overpaid superintendent who is not only rude, but clueless to what's happening in departments he, personally, is supposed to oversee. . Everytime you turn around they want the PARENT to fund something taxes used to pay for. These people think they are Okemos, but clearly lack CLASS. And the things going on in the halls of the HS?! RUN. You've been warned. My 10th grader has been very enlightening. 2 more years and he's done. May have to yank the 4th grader.


Dewitt High School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
I have experienced nothing but the best from DeWitt, MI public schools. Their accademics are outstanding and the student's are hard working and kind. There is not a private school better than DeWitt, MI High School.

Dewitt High School 1

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
If I had to do it all over again, I would choose not to send my children to Dewitt schools. This school system always has to do everything their own way, parent suggestions and opinions are often unheard. My son often comes home and tells me about some gruesome things that are happening at school, which the administration tries hiding from the parents! Iv'e spoken with many other parents in my neighborhood and we are very unsatisfied. My son is an average learner, we are an upper-middle class family like 99% of the families in Dewitt. If diversity is important to you, Dewitt schools may not be a reasonable choice.

Dewitt High School 1

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
My child went to DeWitt schools for her whole life and absolutely hated the social structure. She found very little diversity. She also found the kids and staff to be "stuck up". Many of the teachers were unreasonable and extremely opinionated. The staff was overbearing and unnecessarily strict. The parent involvement, however, was outstanding.


Dewitt High School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
DeWitt is an excellent school, with many wonderful, caring teachers.

Dewitt High School 1

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started DeWitt during highschool as a result of our move. She thought her classes as a whole were much easier than the highschool in Middleville she came from. My son has attended DeWitt since grade school and due to a job change attended Hudsonville school for half of a year two years ago then back to DeWitt for a year. Now we are in Troy School district. Each time he left DeWitt he had to 'catch up' to the students at the new school. This meant hours at the kitchen table after school this wasn't the norm for him while at DeWitt (he rarely needed to study @ home) When he went back to DeWitt he said he felt like he was 'on vacation'. I loved the neighborhood in DeWitt and the teachers were wonderfull but the district is not keeping up with its peers

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dewitt High School
13601 Panther Dr, Dewitt, MI  48820
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (517) 668-3100
Last modified Dewitt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top