Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dexter High School

Public | 9-12 | 1173 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

We are currently juniors at DHS. We believe that DHS is a WONDERFUL school. I completely disagree with he bullying comment and the diversity comment. It's not DHS's fault that we are in a fairly "white" community. That doesn't make us "not diverse" Dexter is a great school in both athletics and education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2012

The reason for such a low rating is that this school is notorious for allowing bullying to take place. During my time at this school, I witnessed many children get bullied and nothing was done about it. This is especially apparent Junior High and High school where it's common for the victim to be accused of lying or labeled the bad person if you fight back. During my time at Dexter High school I witnessed several instances of students getting bullied. The ones that stick out the most are as follows. In gym class I was tripped several times by other students when asked to do laps around the gym. When I told the gym teacher about the incident, she said that she would watch them. The next day in gym class it happened again and she said didn't see me get tripped. Despite the fact that my friends and other people in the class saw it happen. I saw another student shout a homosexual slur a crossed the room, in front of the teacher every single day that semester and she did nothing. In the middle of a presentation when the class was quiet a student shouted out an insult, the teacher once again did nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2010

Both of my children have had wonderful experiences at this high school. The teachers are committed to student success. The band program is exemplary. Many award winning programs including ocean bowl, debate and forensics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Excellent program offerings and sports program. Open to cultural exchanges. Good security systems. My daughters love it. Only weakness would be need more art offerings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

This has been an excellent high school for my son. The principal has a keen understanding of what being a teenager is. Never hear of fights at the school. Students would rather do fun things. Dedicated teachers with wide variety of teaching styles. Although it is a rural area, principal wants students to be competitive on a global basis. Great environment, so far it is the best school my son has been to in US....and we have been in Grosse Pointe, Ann Arbor and Boulder, CO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Dexter High School provides a diverse program for their students. The administrators cooperateswith colleges and universities throughout the area to offer college level courses to students who want and need that stimulus. The art and music programs are exemplary. Administrators throughout the years have carefully nurtured the children, watched the money and provided superb educations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Well organized, caring staff; students are college bound, upscale and well-spoken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

I have a 15 year old daughter that attends Dexter High. If your child needs any kind of special help you will not find it here. They have no study classes and no help for your child if they need extra help in subjects My daughter will go to the middle school after school, and go to an old teacher to get help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

We are parents with 4 of our children attending Dexter schools. Two of our kids go to DHS. The curriculum and one one attention are wonderful. Extracurricular activities as far as sports and band are wholly supported and encouraged in all grades in this district< and a wide array of choices abounds here. Activities on a cultural or artistic level are severely lacking though. Vibrantly diversified Ann Arbor is mere minutes away in our our county, yet field trips (most especially at high school levels) are few and very far between. Disciplinary action at DHS also needs to become consistent. I am not sure if the placement of a new principle with no prior experience is the reason for the favoristic wishy washy attitude toward dishing out the punishments or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

I am a former student of Dexter High School (I graduated two years ago) and I would like to agree with the former student who posted on October 24, 2004. Dexter is severely lacking in diversity of all forms - not only ethnically, but also in terms of class, political ideologies, religions, and so forth. Dexter schools are currently have upper-class white student body. Although resources are available to enhance students' learning, they are rarely taken advantage of. Lack of school funding in Michigan is partly to blame for this, and Dexter itself is growing and hope that funding and diversity increase soon. I hope this occurs to students are exposed to a diverse range of issues and people and to encourage more rigorous working instead of creating student apathy and hindering their future options.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2007

I attended Dexter High School all four years and found it to be an amazing institution with great supportive teachers and staff. Although students often tend to be cliqu-ie (as do most high schools, especially in a small town)- over all there is a feeling of community and care. The couselors and teachers provide great resources for life and college preparation. As long as students take advantage of extracurriculars (Many clubs, class B sports, Band and more!) and work hard- they will find success and happiness at Dexter!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2006

Very bad school. I attend this school currently and I find the school to be lacking in several if not many areas. The only thing I give it credit for is their cross country program. I would go their purely for that reason.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2005

I both attended Dexter schools and had children who recently graduated there. Though I did not find myself well prepared for college, I did alright. My children on the other hand were very well prepared for college (their words) and are doing well. A fellow classmate of my sons entered MSU as a sophomore due to the AP courses he'd taken at DHS. As an area resident, I continue to watch stats on the school system, and it typically performs above-average on standardized testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Our school is Ok, but not anywhere close to good. Most of the teachers are very nice and will give help when you need it. School Sports are very important to dexter, we have been state champs in Golf and Swimming, Dexter is very competitve. Their is also three different bands, along with marching band, and two different Orchestras. The rules are bent for some people and punishments are low. School lunches are lots of money, and lunch system is not the best, other kids could easily charge food on others account.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2005

I am currently a senior at Dexter High School and would definitely recommend it as a great high school. There is very little diversity right now but the district is growing really fast and people from different backgrounds are moving into the area. The teachers are great and relate to each student on a personal level as well as a professional one. The only complaint I have is the disciplinary/attendance policies. Administration is very unfair when it comes to punishments and they give out punishments based more on if they like the kids than what they actually did. And they have a stupid attendance policy where you can only be absent 9 times per semester or you automatically fail your classes and you have to appeal so that you don't fail. I've never found someone who's appeal hasn't gone through so I just find it a huge waste of time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2004

I am a former student of Dexter High School, and I believe that the education provided by this school is lacking in several areas. Their is literally NO diversity present in Dexter High School, nor does the school system take any measures to expose children to a diverse environment. With Ann Arbor only 20 minutes away, the opportunities for cultural activities and experiences are endless. The school's art program is hideously underfunded, as is their AP -or lack their of-- program. Unless you fall into the 98% White-middle class-average student category, Dexter is not the place for you. Below-average students and those who could be classified as 'gifted' fall far behind in Dexter High School, as do those with different skin colors or sexual orientations. The teachers have been their far too long to understand todays teenagers, and the administration is constantly fighting within itself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2003

I go to this school now as a sophomore. I love the teachers. They treat us like friends more than students. They find fun ways for us to learn, rather than boring us with notes and reading assignments. They let us be ourselves, instead of something we're not. It would be cool if all schools treated their students like that.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

"93"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 69%
Asian 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 6%
African-American 1% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:26am
School end time
  • 2:31pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kit Moran
Fax number
  • (734) 424-2747

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Eastern Michigan University
University of Michigan
Washtenaw Community College
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 North Parker Rd
Dexter, MI 48130
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 424-4240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Skyline High School
Ann Arbor, MI


High Point School
Ann Arbor, MI



Whitmore Lake High School
Whitmore Lake, MI


Wedgwood-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT