Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Lansing High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1121 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

Great school! My kids are very prepared for college and the sports programs are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

I hated this school. They heavily discriminated against me because I'm a slightly overweight male. If you were a slightly overweight girl, there were no problems. Nobody should have to suffer so much for a few extra pounds!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2013

Terrible. It's supposed to be the one of the best schools in Michigan. However, I guess a good education consists of 7 hours of fill in the blanks homework every day. The math department has declined since I was here and the teachers just read out of the book and can't answer simple questions. At the same time, the teachers grade really hard and make condescending comments towards the students. This school is supposed to be "tolerant and openminded", but I have never been bullied EVER to the extent when I was here, and only had a couple acquaintances for four years. One student even started a Facebook group against me and I couldn't sleep for days. This school doesn't educate the whole student body, it only caters to the top 10% and believes the other 90% are better off grilling burgers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2013

I am removing my child from this school after this year. She had to repeat a math class that she got an A on last year. One teacher loses papers so they have to be redone; another teacher is mean, belittling, and intimidating and I've had to go to the principal about him; another teacher lets the kids go wild in class so the ones who want to work can't. My daughter is an advanced student and this is not the place for her. She gets blocked from her locker by a group of kids, who call themselves "gangstas," pick on her so she can no longer use it. She gets tired of all the talk of pot and sex (yes, I know this happens everywhere nowadays, but my daughter is actually there because she wants to learn). One of her friends is also being removed next year, and yet another already has been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

Some teachers are good but a lot are too hard. It seems that it's the goal for everyone in this school to go to Harvard and MIT, which is pretty impractical IMO, especially since I'm going into electrical repair. It's not really different from most high schools otherwise. I am so glad that I can finish my high school education at LCC and get a diploma!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2012

Nobody at this school has friends or dates, since they are trying not to fail their classes, and the people display liberal arrogance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2011

Look It's really not that special or different. There are basic busywork classes. I don't know how other schools do this, but the AP classes were IMPOSSIBLE. Most AP teachers wouldn't even talk about the material, but assign impossible tests, which studying for them left me with four hours of sleep per night. I didn't even want to go to college as a result!! There's social drama like everywhere else, and for four straight years, I was worried where I would "belong" in life, only to find that Michigan State, closer to the world, made way more sense, and was actually way different. I had a couple amazing teachers though, which I will remember for the rest of my life, one of whom will become principal next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2011

East Lansing High School is the worst school I ever put my daughter in. The local students are all spoiled brats and the bullying is outrages! If you are a transfer student be careful in selecting this school.The Principle Staff is a failure when it comes to addressing the bullying. The parents do not care what their kids or have no clue what they do at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

Budget cuts have undermined what used to be an excellent school. Now it is merely "pretty good". There are over 30 kids in many English & Social Studies classes, making it difficult for teachers to review and return writing assignments on a timely basis. There are excellent teachers and sub-standard teachers - it's a roulette wheel each year regarding what quality level of teaching your student might get. Guidance support services are lacking in the area of curriculum preparation and application know-how for students who want to attend a selective college. Positives: The math and science programs are fairly strong for accelerated learners. What separates this school from the rest is it's accepting attitudes and inclusiveness of the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I moved away from East Lansing, and oh do I miss the communication with the teachers, They are excellent at what they do, and the Principal Paula runs that school like it should be. Outstanding!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Top notch academics, quality athletics, fantastic debate --- great kids with high family expectations and a dedicated staff all in one of Michigan's most progressive communities. It just doesn't get much better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

The Teachers and Administrative staff at East Lansing High are professional, inspirational and refreshingly motivating. Learning is the priority here. It is nice to observe educators that are sincere and simply want the best for your children. Thank you East Lansing High, for setting the bar so..High!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I have several children at different levels that attend the East Lansing school district. We have been here for several years and we love it. There is incredible diversity, multiple levels of income back grounds and so many international students from all over the world. Education is highly valued here, expectations are extremly high and the districts believes that every child can go to college. The kids at E.L. are prepared for the next level. The relationship the district has with MSU and Ingham Intermediate prepare our children for the world and work force. Parent involvement is at its highest at the elementry levels k-6 and tends to drop off at the middle school level. Parents are encourage to stay involved. The community trys to stay out of the shadow of MSU but falls short of supporting successful kids academically, athletically, liberal arts and great citizens of E.L.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Great school overall. Teachers are great and understanding, though the workload is very high. Extracurricular activities are good as well and the principal is very understanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2006

Students are expected to excell academically and are well prepared for college. ELHS was one of only 42 high schools NATIONWIDE to receive Grammy recognition for outstanding music programs. School musicals outstanding. Yearbook wins national awards; school paper 'Portrait' rivals that of small colleges in quality. Highest ratio in Greater Lansing area for National Merit Semi-Finalists; debate teams consistent winners. Known for great athletic teams. Boys Soccer consistently ranked in top 5 of state. Outstanding in academics, arts, and athletics. High level of parent involvement from band boosters to sports boosters. Google co-founder Larry Page a graduate. Graduates go on to Harvard, Cornell, Stanford, Michigan, Northwestern, Duke,etc. Diverse population allows for acceptance and friends for all. Small town atmosphere with world class university across the street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

I am very happy with the education my sophomore daughter is receiving at ELHS. It is a beautiful, exciting school, where she has great teachers and very nice friends. She works hard and enjoys school. When she was struggling in math, her teacher made himself available after school. When she had some concerns about a grade from another teacher, the two of them worked it out. The teachers really seem to care about their students. I'm sure my daughter will leave ELHS well prepared for a good college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

Althought sometimes the school seems like it is going broke, this is still a very nice school to attend. After attending East Lansing then coming to Okemos i feel that the students here seem much less tolerant. East Lansing has a history of high extracurricular exellance and amazing ability to compete statewide in sports. However due to budget difficulties the level education is gowing down at an amazing level and the meap scores are showing it. Overall this school is a nice place to be, the leadership is what made me change schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2004

I recently attended a football against Lansing Eastern High School at East Lansing High. I was extremely disappointed by the discipline of the students. When the other marching band lined up for their halftime show East Lansing students threw rocks and coins at them. When the band finished the performance and marched off the field students were yelling obscene things. I do not believe this behavior is something you would want your child to participate in.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 12, 2004

Alot of the children's parents go to MSU, so it was nice to see some of my friends taking their children to school. It's really nice to see 'future' MSU students with their parents. Okay. Enough about MSU. Let's talk about the school. The school is mediocre. It has its goods and bads. Bads- the school asks for too much money from the families and some families cannot afford all of the money, like my family. Goods- the principal leadership, teacher quality, safety, and discipline. The safety is great, but sometimes I tend to see my 2 children not behaving well. The behavior problems that my children have are something that the school is supposed to teach. Overall, though, the schools acedemics are wonderful! This is a great school for children to go to, even MSU inductees and former MSU parents and their children will love this wonderful acedemic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Teachers generally are dedicated and of high quality. The administrators, however, leave a lot to be desired. A fairly diverse student population including many that have lived overseas. Many have parents associated with MSU. Lots of clubs, activities and sports options. All East Lansing schools are facing serious budget issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

253 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

251 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

250 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female43%
Male55%
African American25%
Asian83%
Hispanic16%
Multiracial47%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male72%
African American58%
Asian78%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial59%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female40%
Male49%
African American15%
Asian61%
Hispanic21%
Multiracial35%
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students59%
Female53%
Male65%
African American38%
Asian61%
Hispanic16%
Multiracial53%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female68%
Male69%
African American43%
Asian83%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

99%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 69%
African-American 20% 18%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Asian 6% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Brandenburg
Fax number
  • (517) 333-7513

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 Burcham Dr
East Lansing, MI 48823
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 333-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beekman Center
Lansing, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT