Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pinecrest School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
My two children have gone here and it has been great! Excellent teachers, nice playground, activities and sports. I appreciate this school.

Pinecrest School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Love these teachers, they went above and beyond to make my children feel appreciated and involved.


Pinecrest School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
They have homework but it's not overwhelming, kids have family time and time to play with friends.

Pinecrest School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
They have sports, activities and encourage students to achieve their goals. They encourage parents to be involved with the kids.

Pinecrest School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
They work hard to get students to respect each other by in service seminars and workshops with speakers.


Pinecrest School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and parents working together to encourage students to strive, achieve their goals and be compassionate.

Pinecrest School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at this school are great. They work with students and parents. There is a good amount of parent support and coordination with the school and students.

Pinecrest School 1

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
My child was attacked by another student at this school and nobody noticed my childs face had several red marks across it. When i brought this matter up the office staff and principal snickered at how upset I was suggesting this was not a big deal. A student at this school picked up a stick chased my child across the playground and permanently marked my childs face up. When I asked the principal what would be done, i was told it was a mistake, just scratches and no big deal. I anticipated that this would never happen at such a top rated school district, and if it did i expected that it would have been handled in the appropriate manner. I received no resolution, and no communication about this issue after I brought it up. This school seems to only treat minority children this way. Its sad that this school used to be a good school but this year eveything seems to be moving towards the schools worst years.


Pinecrest School 5

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
My special needs child attended this school from kindergarten through 3rd grade. I think this school is one of the best out there and it wasn't until we moved that I really realized how great this school really is. The work these people do at this school for special needs children is stellar. In particular was Ms. Sherry, the resource room teacher, here is someone who is on a salary but when you drive by this school at 9-10 PM this lady is still there working to help children on her own time. Anyway you look at it this lady is my hero. The commitment and devotion the teachers have at this school words can't describe. This school was so beneficial to my child that after moving to Plymouth we actually reconsidered moving back to East Lansing just to put my child back in this school.

Pinecrest School 2

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Not impressed! East Lansing is an award winning school but doesn't much care about the children who are under performing. Asked them to test my child for learning disabilities in kindergarden because he was having trouble learing and writing. They tsaid children that young aren't tested for learing disabilities. This is false, the Federal government has numerous program like Early On that focus on testing children when they are very young for learning disabilities. Don't send you child here if they have any type of learning difficulity. They WILL NOT get the help the need.

Nearby schools

Pinecrest School
1811 Pinecrest Drive, East Lansing, MI  48823
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (517) 333-7870
Last modified Pinecrest School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top