Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marble School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 361 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2012

We are considering moving into another district a Marble seems to be going back further to the 19th century in terms of lowering expectations for students, increasing boring repetitive worksheet curriculum and doing away with project learning and field trips, and increasing class sizes. Fundraising, sports and behavior take priority over academics. The principal is always in a hurry and not parent friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

Marble is a good school because it has mainly well cared-for, prepared kids with educated parents. The school doesn't push the kids academically, however, and class sizes have been growing. I do admire the zero bullying tolerance, it sets the kids up for high behavior expectations that will make learning easier in the higher grades. I agree that the school could be a lot more innovative in learning approaches, especially integrating music and art more into the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

I am very happy with Marble School this 2009-2010 school year. The principal is very friendly and has great credentials. I'm not fond of the rigid lunch rules that are now being applied but if that is the worst thing that happens, I can live with it. As the parent of a girl, I can say that I'm very tired of all the emphasis that is put on the girls getting along and now the girls have to sit with the social worker at the school to talk about 'being friends with everyone.' Boys do things sometimes that mimic some of this behavior but it is okay because it is on the sports field. I have seen the girls at Marble have a wonderful time together and I am very proud my daughter is friends with many different girls. This anti-bullying msg. is important but they are overdoing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Marble is a nice school with a friendly environment. The kids and parents are wonderful the teachers and administration are welcoming. However there are very low academic expectations. There is nothing in place for children who are excelling and need further challenges. I would also argue that the curriculum is not challenging for most kids. We found that continuing to approach the teachers and principal about this resulted in nothing of substance to the academic environment. We do not plan to continue in East Lansing schools for this reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I agree with the other parent's recent review stating 'low academic expectations.' Marble is a nice school community with good parent involvement. However, the staff does not aspire to excellence. Rather, they focus on students meeting the requirements and do not provide opportunities for students who have the capability to perform at a higher level. In addition, the curriculum is uninspriring, with most teachers providing a standard classroom experience without exciting learning opportunities (with the exception of a few). Cliques abound at Marble, and students feel pressure to wear the right clothes, watch the right TV shows, and have the right electronics. Not enough attention is given to hurtful behavior amongst girls, though with the change of principals this year that has improved. Unfortunately, the districts around East Lansing offer more of the same, and there are few private options for parents who desire a more rigorous and creative educational atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

I taught at Marble and I loved my experience there. The parents are involved at just the right amount.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2008

Marble is an excellent school.We have two children in the system and have found the East Lansing schools to be comparable to private schooling. East Lansing schools are highly academic, arts-oriented, globally diverse, and have many upscale families that are involved in their children's lives. We feel confident our children are being well-prepared for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

I have not had any problems with Marble Elementary. My children have been in the East Lansing School District for about 4 years now. And would rate the district about a 9. Marble however is a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

Marble is an excellent school, Teachers are A+. Parental invovlement is terrific. Marble offers a higher standard of programs and great language arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

So far this year (2004-2005), our experience with Kindergarten at Marble School confirms time and again that our decision to specifically choose East Lansing and the Bailey Neighborhood was worth every penny we pay of the higher cost of home ownership and taxes compared to similar communities nearby. I say this because the community provides many amenities close by, especially if you value a slighty urban setting, proximity to a major university, access to many children's programs throughout the year and an outlet for you to enjoy life as well as you and your family grow and develop in a stimulating, engrossing environment. People are friendly and the City of East Lansing provides excellent services for its citizens, including an excellent city library. While the city might do a little more toward recycling efforts, the schools are well-funded and supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 69%
African-American 7% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Dori Leyko
Fax number
  • (517) 333-5092

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

729 North Hagadorn Rd
East Lansing, MI 48823
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 333-7860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Donley Elementary School
East Lansing, MI



Pinecrest School
East Lansing, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT