Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Macdonald Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2012

I have mixed feelings about the school. There are a few excellent and dedicated teachers in math, performing arts and previously in English. Science is weak, and English is extremely weak. Seems to be a safe environment and the principal is very energetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

An excellent school - a private school quality in a public school. This is my 2nd child to attend this school and there have been many improvements over the last few years. It is a safe, caring and nurturing environment (in as much nurturing as middle school years can be!) The student body seems to be very tolerant of other cultures. The school is run well by experienced administrators and faculty. We have found very caring and hard working teachers. The orchestra and band programs are phenomenal with new leadership; they encourage outreach and class trips to go see Yo Yo Ma in Chicago! Middle school years are hard on the child because they are trying to figure out where they fit in the world but this is an excellent school (and an excellent school district in general!) to help them along their journey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

My kids attended MacDonald from 2004-2008. The positives: the team teaching concept seems to be fairly effective (1/2 the grade shares 4 core subject teachers, the other 1/2 shares the other 4 core subject teachers.) Language teaching is fairly strong (French, Spanish). Music program has been uneven due to transitions between teachers, but now I hear it is solid and strong. The building facility itself is perfect for the 7th and 8th grades. No overcrowding anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My daughter goes there and loves it. In 7th grade, there were no problems. She admired her teachers and did well. Now as an 8th grader, she still is doing well. The school is beautiful now that it has been refurbished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Some teachers are great, and others are extremely bad. The extremely bad include teachers in English and Natural Science who disrespect and mistreat students and/or quite indifferent to their achievements. I wish my kids would not have gone there. And the principal lacks total leadership. Disappointing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

I sent two daughters through this school between 2003-2006. I must say, it was the worst school experience in either of their lives! Middle school is hard enough socially, so when you add in incompetent leadership and inconsistently enforced standards, it's downright maddening. Some teachers and counselors were very committed, and others were downright callous and uncaring. If I had known then what I know now, I would have never sent my daughters to this school. And I will not be sending my youngest child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

Academics varie a lot in MMS depending on each individual teacher. The elective courses offer a scarce variety, and there is no longer gym or sports! It offer 2 foreign languages for the 2 years, which I find it great preparation for HS. Actually the foreign language instruction is the best asset in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

As, class of 08, ! just recently left Macdomald Middle School. In seventh grade, the school had teams for the two grades. But as the school's budget wasd declining, the following year, it became a junior high. It was a change for 2003-2004 eight graders to get used to, but we adjusted. And those same people had to go through the construction years, which was over in the eight grade. The school was beautiful...new bathrooms with automatic toliets and sinks, marble floors and a bigger library were some of the changes that we enoyed. In the end, I really enjoyed going to this school; I couldn't imagine going to another.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2004

Don't look for a simple phone call from McDonald staff to inform parents that their child is failing course work in just about every marking period for 3/4 of the school year. After finally hearing of this, 'I' kept in daily contact via phone calls, e-mails, school website and daily progress reports. Some teachers went up and beyond to help, others acted as if it was a burden. McDonald 7th and 8th grades seem to be a year ahead for each. My children found themselves doing Lansing School District 8th grade work while in McDonald 7th grade classes. Some McDonald teachers will leave your children feeling as if they don't belong if they don't understand the work. Look to pay a hefty participation fee from the city itself if you child wants to play any sport other than McDonald soccer or track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

Unfortunately, the quality of this school has decreased significantly in the past couple of years. There is little discipline and my child describes the hallways as chaotic and the language that is considered acceptable by the staff as crude. If I had known two years ago what I know now about the school I would never have sent my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

278 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 69%
African-American 16% 18%
Asian 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Multiracial 7% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Merem Frierson
Fax number
  • (517) 333-5098

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Burcham Drive
East Lansing, MI 48823
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 333-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Haslett Middle School
Meridian Charter Township, MI



Chippewa Middle School
Meridian Charter Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT