Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas Aquinas School

Private | K-8 | 336 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in East Lansing

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

We could not be more pleased with this school. Our daughter and son go to STA and have gotten an outstanding education. They are miles above their peers both academically and socially who attend public schools in the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Excellent, dedicated teachers, with a strong foundation in the Catholic Faith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

St. Thomas Aquinas has been an excellent school. It's administration, teachers, parental support, and curriculum have made it possible for our 7 children and 4 grandchildren to serve both God an their fellowman. All were well prepared for advanced education, which includes 2 Dr. degrees (3 more pending), 2 M.A., and 3 B.S degrees We continue to have 2 grandchildren attending this wonderful school founded by Msgr. Jerome V. MacEachin in 1949.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

After going through nine years at St. Thomas I recognized how lucky I was to attend such a wonderful school. The education is top notch, and most importantly I learned a great deal about God, and developed a relationship with him. I would recommend St. Thomas to anyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

Celebrating it's 60th year of producing excellence. My parents struggled to put seven kids through this great school. Six grandkids have now gone through as well. St. Thomas is well rounded, with excellence in academics, formation of the child's concience, arts and music, and athletics. It cannot be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Two of my children graduated from this school. My oldest then graduated as salutatorian at her high school and attends the Univ of Michigan and is getting straight A's. My other child who is in high school is also doing extremely well. This school prepared my children very well academically, spiritually and socially for the next level. I could not be happier with my children's experience at St. Thomas and appreciate all of the wonderful experiences and kind, caring teachers and coaches that mentored them when they attended the school. It is wrong to blame a school if your children have issues that interfere with their ability to succeed academically and you should be ashamed of yourself for trying to bring down such a fine and caring group of teachers and administrators at St. Thomas. Go Tartans!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

After sending several children through St. Thomas Aquinas I could not disagree more with the previous comment. Apparently this individual has children with issues..it sounds like 'sour grapes' to me. Our children are of various learning levels and they thrived at STA. This is a group of dedicated teachers who have risen to the occassion for not only my children but for all children. We have experienced compassion and a strong committment by these teachers to make sure that all students understand this challenging curriculum. The grading scale is tougher but that makes for better students. The administration is progressive and fair. They are extremely proactive...in fact when we dealt with a bulling issue, they wasted no time in dealing with it. I cannot say enough about this fine institution and the strong basis of Faith and Fundamentals that they instilled in my children. My children loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

This is most certainly not a school of high caliber and almost fell off my chair while reading these reviews. Talk about being snowballed. I pulled my two children out of this school before the end of last school year. They were both academically behind upon entering the public school system. We are all in agreement it was because of an extremely poor foundation of learning. The public school has worked over time to catch them up--thank goodness. Anyone who thinks this school is ahead academically really needs to visit all of the surrounding public school systems and I do not think you will be pleased by what you will find. STA is light years behind. Although the principal is a nice lady she is very ineffective. Teacher quality does not even compare to our public school. I could not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

We absolutely love this school. Our children were in the public school system previously (one child for 3 years and one for 1 year) before going to STA. We can compare the quality of education between my son who was in 2nd grade at the public and my daughter who was in 2nd grade at STA. The differences are amazing. My son, who is now in 5th grade, is much further ahead than his old classmates at the former school. Everyone has been so nice and we feel very blessed to be at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

This is a very good school. It has very good acedemics but the sports programs are very minimal. I was having problems with writing. My teacher gave me extra help. I have become a good person of values and I am now excelling in all acedemics. It is a very good school with very friendly students you right away become part of a tight little family. Having a lot of grades does not reduce the learning quality. Oldeer students have chances to help younger ones. You learn spainish wich is good for career oppertunities. This school is very religous. I am a former student and I miss the school very much.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

This is an execellent school of the highest caliber!!! The teachers are very qualified and are comitted to teaching and instilling a love of learning in each child. The principle, assistant principle and remainder of the administrative staff are comitted toward making the school the best it can be. Children and parents alike are known by there names and personalities rather than just another number. The academic program is very strong and well rounded. Children are also taught good moral values and respect for others, behaviors that will serve them well throughtout their lives. Discipline is maintained and bad behavior is not tolerated. Each child is treated with love and caring. There are many extracurricular activities and sports, music and foreign language are also included! Parental involement is probably the highest of anywhere. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 71%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 5%
African-American 1% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Multiracial 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Frank Sander
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (517) 351-7271

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lansing
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

915 Alton Rd
East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone: (517) 332-0813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marble School
East Lansing, MI


The Montessori Center
East Lansing, MI




Donley Elementary School
East Lansing, MI


Pinecrest School
East Lansing, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT