Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stepping Stones Montessori School

Private | PK-6 | 95 students

We provide an environment that nurtures the development of the whole child.

 
 

Living in East Lansing

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Stepping Stones is a child-centered place of education, which allows each child to discover their own interests and develop confidence and curiosity about the world around them. Great teachers, great learning environment, wonderful head of school, I highly recommend Stepping Stones Montessori in East Lansing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Stepping Stones Montessori in East Lansing is a wonderful school. I have been a parent in toddler, primary and elementary programs. All programs are wonderful and heavily adhere to the AMI Montessori principles. I think ELSS is the best Montessori in mid michigan. They have many extra-curricular work including spanish, yoga, dance, sports, knitting, model UN and other enrichment activities. Comments about the 1 star elementary ratings: This program is a three year program from 1st to 3rd grade. The 1st year is difficult for parents (children, not so much). During the beginning of a cycle, they are learning to be independent and self-driven, while being guided by their teachers. Initial guide led instruction requires subsequent independent work and the mastery of skill. Parents (including me, initially) have difficulty with this phase, but results incredible transformative change. Some think the their children are not doing well because they are being measured onto mainstream elementary guidelines(how, when you learn maths, reading etc.) By the end of the three year cycle..these children are way ahead of the public system and often bored with it as well as it was beneath them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

The Elementary Classroom was devastating for our family. We started in the Primary Program and could not have been more happy with Stepping Stones Montessori School. When moved to Elementary, it all changed. There were many layers of missing academic, social and emotional support. Only once we moved to public schools, did we discovered the depth of how academically behind we were. This is not a safe environment for elementary children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

Stepping Stones Montessori is a treasure! We have 2 children, one who attended a Montessori in Chicago from 18 months through the 8th grade and the other who started at 2 1/2 and is now in the 4th grade at Stepping Stones. Stepping Stones most closely resembles what we consider the ideal Montessori environment. The teachers and staff are amazing, they are very dedicated to the Montessori philosophy and the well being and development of each child. They encourage the children to have a wonderful sense of curiosity and a desire to learn. The parents and school community as a whole are unbelievable! There are so many wonderful families that are always willing to help out the school and each other. I can t imagine a greater gift for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

My child has attended Stepping Stones Montessori for about two years in both the Toddler House and Primary programs. The academic environment is very enriching and children have an opportunity to pursue learning that genuinely interests them. Also children progress at their own pace not based solely on their age or grade level. Just as important to me as the adherence to Montessori principals that the school demonstrates is that I feel my child works daily with the guidance of teachers who genuinely care about her and know her strengths and interests. This is a great community and a wonderful place for children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I cannot recommend this school. The Elementary Program is poorly run. The male teacher has a hard time with his temper and the female teacher is not Montessori trained. We chose this school as we were led to believe that it provided students with challenging academic work in a Montessori environment. We could not be more disappointed. I am grateful we were able to leave before too much damage socially, emotionally and academically occurred. Much better private and public options in this community than this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Wonderful school that supports the children in all aspects. Great, great community to belong to--we've been a part of the school since our now second grader was 2 in the Toddler House. We've been happy here for a long time, and the small size makes addressing any needs or concerns easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Stepping Stones Montessori school in East Lansing, MI is a very impressive school. As a former employee I would suggest that anyone interested in the Montessori style learning should look into Stepping Stones. The staff, children, and parents are very friendly and pleasant to work with. The school itself is very nice, the classrooms are kept neat and tidy and managed by the students. The school has several options for children to become part of the school and explore other interests, as well. I know that they have had Spanish and dance classes for the kids to enroll in and they also have an after school program that runs until 5:45. From the classes I have observed, the kids love to learn and they have the opportunity to explore and choose what they learn about each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2012

Absolutely love this schools! My son has attended Stepping Stones since the first grade, he is now in the second grade. We couldn't be happier with the faculty, leadership, and staff. The elementary school teachers are wonderful. They have been excellent guides and my son has excelled tremendously in academics as well as social-emotional development. He is able to direct his own learning and learn at his own pace. I think this is an especially great environment for bright and gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

We chose Stepping Stones Montessori when we moved to East Lansing four years ago because it most clearly modeled our ideal Montessori program. It is child-centered but not child-directed. Students engage deeply in learning and have fun. We have been delighted with the teachers, the school, and the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2011

My child attended Stepping Stones all the way through sixth grade. I highly recommend it. The child-centered environment is wonderful, and there are many opportunities for students to study a subject in depth, to lead projects and activities, and to get the help and direction they need. The teachers are very experienced, and the curriculum makes sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

We recently switched our son to this school from another area Montessori school and are so very happy! The teachers/staff and other parents are wonderful. He has grown so much in the last few months. There is an active school board here and people work together to solve problems. I am very impressed and relieved. Now school is a joy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

We have been there 2 years and my children have advanced in every subject. They are given the resources to excel in any area and not held back by grade level. The school has taught them how to express themselves and work with children and adults alike. Not only do they enjoy going to school each day but they want to go early!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

The Montessori Center of East Lansing is a absolutely wonderful school. I went there from fourth to sixth grade and have learned so much! The room creates a great place for learning academics as well as learning to get along with others. Montessori has made my learning experience outstanding and I see this school going a long way.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Colleen Carlson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Secular
Fax number
  • (517) 336-0423

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • individualized instruction
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • 15hr of volunteer time is required.
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public
Parochial
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1370 Beech Street
East Lansing, MI 48823
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 336-0422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Montessori Center
East Lansing, MI


Marble School
East Lansing, MI


St. Thomas Aquinas School
East Lansing, MI


Donley Elementary School
East Lansing, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT