Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Thomas Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 9 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Eastpointe

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $60,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

St. Thomas is a great school. My siblings and I attended St. Thomas from preschool till 8th grade and we were sad to graduate and move on to high school. St. Thomas provided a great education and we left feeling like we knew what we needed to for high school. Not only did St. Thomas educate us but they taught us how to be respectful students. The teachers and staff are nourishing and welcoming to all. They were happy to see you each day and are still happy to see you when you come back to visit, which I do frequently. I would recommend St. Thomas to anyone looking for an above average education in a caring and loving Christian setting. I plan on sending my children there in the future.


Posted January 14, 2014

St Thomas is a fantastic school! I have witnessed my 6yr old grandson kneeling down in front of the Nativity Scene and saying a prayer. He wasn't told to, he just did it. Christian education with Christian action! Amazing!


Posted January 14, 2014

St. Thomas is an amazing place! My son receives a quality education as well as the emotional support he needs to excel in school. The teachers are superb. I'm so happy that we found St. Thomas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

St Thomas is an excellent example of a Christian school and Christian environment. I am not sure what the previous persons review was all about. I have sent my children to the school since 2009. Both of my sons are receiving an great education and that is what matters most to my wife and I. Please do not let one persons negative review ruin the chance for your children to get a great experience at St Thomas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I wanted to send my child to a Christain school. After my child spent many years at a premier non christian private school. THe level of smiles that the teachers at St. Thomas were many. But love is an action word. I found the school to be very ridgid and not friendly at all.The parents were not allowed into the classroom without an appointment? I wanted to see the raw teaching style, not a show!. The school administrator seems to be very busy, and not able to talk to you. As anew parent, you should be able to address my concerns. If your child is in another private school with a different philosophy or style of teaching. Do not bring them to St. Thomas!! The school does not know how to welcome a new child. I find this a poor ex. of what Christian is like! This would turn Christ off!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

I feel St. Thomas is an awesome school. I went there and so did my sisters and our daughter. There is very loving and caring teachers that not only tell the children about the love of Jesus but instruct in their studies to go on to high school. I highly recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I cannot say enough about the level of Christain education that is provided at STL. My daughter has been taught by the finest teachers at this fully acredited Lutheran school. THANKS, ST. THOMAS STAFF!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

I believe this school is outstanding. The teachers, aides and support school staff are awesome. They are so helpful with everything. They have been around now for 100 years and hope to see 100 more. I attended preschool through 8th grade and still help any opportunity I have. It is a great place to learn and you will value it forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

I took some time looking for a preschool for our son and through another parent I found St. Thomas Lutheran. I must say that it was the best choice I ever made, our son has excelled and we are looking forward to sending him to kindergarten in the fall. The preschool teacher and aides are excellent. Overall this school is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

My child attended this school for the second half of her pre-school year. It was a wonderful experience. I loved her teacher. I want to send my other child to this school for pre-school. It wasn't as costly as some schools and the over-all experience was truely a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

My child is a student here, and I love it. The entire school staff is a wonderful and loving bunch. There is some gossip that does go on, but that is anywhere you go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

The education my children received at this school was amazing. The teachers truely care about their students and take the extra time to include Jesus in that. We left this school because of the lack of parental involvement, gossip, and basic rudeness among a great deal of parents. It is very hard to walk into a school everyday where you know that a great deal of parents will not be there to lend support if needed. Aside from this the administration, support staff, teachers, and aides are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 69%
African-American 28% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jacqueline Sturgess
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (586) 772-6265

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23801 Kelly Road
Eastpointe, MI 48021
Phone: (586) 772-3372

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Forest Park Elementary
Eastpointe, MI


Reach Charter Academy
Roseville, MI



Avalon Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI


Harmon Elementary School
Saint Clair Shores, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT