Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eaton Rapids Senior High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 865 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2014

My husband and I attended ERPS. We went on to receive our undergraduate degrees at Ferrix State University. We now have great jobs and are very impressed by the exceptional faculty at ERPS!


Posted November 9, 2013

Eaton Rapids High is led by a principal who cares. Teachers are responsive and most will give extra to help students succeed. Would like to see a better variety of classes offered. Administration is responsive. School spirit so high that kids who choose to become involved find it a place to enjoy. Need more counseling staff. A solid example of small town life in Michigan as families and community are very involved in schools and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

ERHS is a great place to be if you are looking to make friends. I love the atmosphere that our school carries and the faculty really show an interest in it's students. I am graduating from ERHS this year and I can honestly say that I have had many wonderful experiences here and I will miss it very much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2010

Eaton Rapids High School was great this year. I have enjoyed my 1st year, here at ERHS. Young Mr. Smith has helped me become a better person. ERHS has great students and great staff. Lets keep up the great work until June 9, 2010 @ 11am than school is out!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2010

My daughter graduated from ERHS recently, and had a wonderful experience there. The faculty is great and there are lots of opportunities for kids in sports and fine arts. The school is well-managed, safe, and welcoming for students. They welcome parents' volunteerism, not just in the PTA but in many booster organizations and the ER Education Foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

Eaton Rapids High School is the best, This is my first year at ERHS and it is great. Staff are ready to teach and Student are somewhat ready to learn. ERHS Students are great when it comes to sports and they are in Greyhound Spirit, the staff I like would be Mr. Brant, Mr. Anderson, Mr. Whitmyer, Mr. Lounds, Ms. Cartwright, Mr. Cores, Mr. Harmon, Old Mr. Smith, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Maurer, Mr. Jones, April, Mrs. Hubert, Mr. Bogardus, and Mrs. Parker.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2010

My three sons received an excellent eduacation at Eaton Rapids. The schools provided a safe environment in which they were able to learn and succeed. They have all received their masters degree at prominent universities. My boys were able to participate in athletics as well as academic clubs. Great opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Great school! The teachers bend over backwards and there is no violence/drugs to speak of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Our schools have spirit that far exceeds any in the surrounding area. We have the best teachers and the best students by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

this school gives the children the support they need, and the knowlege they need
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

Im a newer student, last year being my first year to eaton rapids and I must say that I think it is a wonderful place to go to school. if your motivated and hardworking you have teachers that will stand behind you 100% and the ones Ive had are all good at what they do. there is a huge amount of school spirit and alot of really nice people too. I love everything about our school.... and I agree with the comment about Mr. Marske Mrs. Brantley and all of those teachers but i must add Mrs. Juel and Mrs. Nutt!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2006

Average education. Students are not highly motivated by academics. However, clean, safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

My whole outlook on public schools has been changed due to my child's experience THIS year (2004-2005). I was a homeschooler, who learned the hard way, that there's a REASON teachers have degrees in teaching! LOL! I homeschooled for the safetly factor; wanted to keep my child protected (the whole Columbine thing, etc. etc.) But, THIS YEAR IN PARTICULAR I have been so THRILLED with E.R.P.S. and the help they've given me and my child. Since I'm only allowed 'up to 150 words', I can't possibly say all I want to about Mrs. Brantley, Mr. Ribby, Mr. Marske, Mrs. Maurer, Br. Beals, and Mr. Warriner. I will write indiv. letters later to the school regarding each of these SPECTACULAR teachers. Oh, I left out Mr. Dassance! Yes, I even have good things to say about him. LOL! Thank you all for the job you do. I can't thank you enough! Vicki Evans
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

Please note that the students are frequently responsible for the mess in the classroom. If you don't require them to clean up at home, how can you expect the school to stay clean? The kids make a mess and then say, 'Well, the janitors can pick it up!' Do you want the district budget to go toward cleaning the rooms or educating the children? Parents should educate their children about picking up after themselves instead of expecting janitors, teachers & parents to clean up after them. What will they do when they graduate & no one picks up after them then??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

the schools have miceand the janitors do not clean every room at night ive walked into a room on a friday after school and the room was a mess and noone was in there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Johnson
Fax number
  • (517) 663-0616

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 State St
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 663-2231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christian Summit Academy
Eaton Rapids, MI





Springport High School
Springport, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT