Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lockwood Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 364 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Lockwood has a School-within-a-school. We have a Montessori program K-3 that is continued on as a 4/5 at Greyhound Intermediate. Having a K-1-2 is great because this is where all of the foundational skills are taught. Reading Street is our Core Literacy Program and we also provide interventions for reading and math so that ALL students are successful. Art, Music, technology and P.E. are offered at all grade levels! The Lockwood Pups are always learning!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 11, 2010

Lockwood Elementary was better off with Ellen Grant-Ball, she was a great principal. My Brother was at Lockwood for 2 years but we never liked the new principal. Lockwood has great teachers, I can say that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

This is an OK school. I find communication between parent and teachers lacking. Also, I have never had the principal introduce herself to me in the 2 years I have been a parent here. The one time I did try and talk to her, I was brushed off. But my child has done great and learned what he needed to here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

This is a great school for young learners. (Kindergarten, First grade). There is amazing literacy support ( 5 or 6 literacy aides), in addition to classroom teacher. It seems like they are very focused on the whole child because they also have music, art, and other great opportunities for kids.


Posted January 30, 2008

Lockwood has an exceptional principal. She is very involved with the students. The teachers work openly with the parents to help children succeed. There is also a large volunteer base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

Lockwood doea offer alot of extra activities for the children. I would not however recommend this school to any parents of a child with any kind of learning disability, and or any type of disability. They will just pass the child grade to grade without trying to help them succeed to their potential. They definately cannot handle 'behavior issues'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

School offers so many additional programs for the students. Accelerated Reading program, Team teaching, honors choir, counseling program, art,computers, etc. Staff will work with families to place children in the appropriate classroom/teachers. The teachers are professionals who continually work on professional development to improve what is taught and how it is taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

The school works with you on trying to place your child in the right room. And helps them any way they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Julie Powers
Fax number
  • (517) 663-6836

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

810 Greyhound Dr
Eaton Rapids, MI 48827
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 663-8194

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Peter School
Eaton Rapids, MI


Island City Academy
Eaton Rapids, MI


Christian Summit Academy
Eaton Rapids, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT