Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lockwood Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2015
- a parent
Lockwood's Montessori program has some of the best teachers in the entire district (although some that definitely aren't the best either). Be careful though because it's still Eaton Rapids Public Schools and like another reviewer said this district is NOT sensitive or educated to Special Needs and will damage those children without constant parental vigilence and involvement.

Lockwood Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a teacher
Lockwood has a School-within-a-school. We have a Montessori program K-3 that is continued on as a 4/5 at Greyhound Intermediate. Having a K-1-2 is great because this is where all of the foundational skills are taught. Reading Street is our Core Literacy Program and we also provide interventions for reading and math so that ALL students are successful. Art, Music, technology and P.E. are offered at all grade levels! The Lockwood Pups are always learning!


Lockwood Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
Lockwood Elementary was better off with Ellen Grant-Ball, she was a great principal. My Brother was at Lockwood for 2 years but we never liked the new principal. Lockwood has great teachers, I can say that!

Lockwood Elementary School 3

Posted April 03, 2010
- a parent
This is an OK school. I find communication between parent and teachers lacking. Also, I have never had the principal introduce herself to me in the 2 years I have been a parent here. The one time I did try and talk to her, I was brushed off. But my child has done great and learned what he needed to here.

Lockwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2010
- a community member
This is a great school for young learners. (Kindergarten, First grade). There is amazing literacy support ( 5 or 6 literacy aides), in addition to classroom teacher. It seems like they are very focused on the whole child because they also have music, art, and other great opportunities for kids.


Lockwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
Lockwood has an exceptional principal. She is very involved with the students. The teachers work openly with the parents to help children succeed. There is also a large volunteer base.

Lockwood Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2005
- a parent
Lockwood doea offer alot of extra activities for the children. I would not however recommend this school to any parents of a child with any kind of learning disability, and or any type of disability. They will just pass the child grade to grade without trying to help them succeed to their potential. They definately cannot handle 'behavior issues'.

Lockwood Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2004
- a parent
School offers so many additional programs for the students. Accelerated Reading program, Team teaching, honors choir, counseling program, art,computers, etc. Staff will work with families to place children in the appropriate classroom/teachers. The teachers are professionals who continually work on professional development to improve what is taught and how it is taught.


Lockwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2004
- a parent
The school works with you on trying to place your child in the right room. And helps them any way they can.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lockwood Elementary School
810 Greyhound Drive, Eaton Rapids, MI  48827
(517) 663-8194
Last modified Lockwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4
Lockwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top