Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ecorse Community High School

Public | 8-12 & ungraded | 463 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

Test scores have gone up in four out of five areas where the State of Michigan ranks us. Our deficit is going down. Ecorse is going in the right direction. That is up. There will always be those who will look down upon us no matter what we do. Also, we did this without extra money that other schools received. Further, our Seniors received an enormous amount of Scholarship money.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 2, 2014

Is making great strides to improve. We have Kaplan to better prepare our students for the ACT/MME. This has produced increased test scores. We have John Hopkins University who have introduced new ways of teaching. More students are taking advantage of after school programs such as Wayne States C2 Pipeline and Robotics. There are great things happening at Ecorse High School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

We have instituted a state-of-the-art online system that allows students who were unsuccessful in regular high school settings to achieve academic completion and success via virtual studies 24/7 with business hour one-to-one tutorial and facilitation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

My School is a great place to work. It is a small family environment where everyone is involved. The community has a history of having a great steak in the educational process at Ecorse High School. Ecorse is advancing with new partnerships with Universities and Neighboring corporations that will help to further pursue that top notch education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2011

I was a student at Ecorse High School. It was the worst experience I've had during my educational journey. I highly suggest not sending your children here if you want quality education in a safe enviroment. Going here was horrible. We even had police officers patrol the school with no help. There were too many fights, gangs, and teachers who didn't care. Big waste of time!!!


Posted September 9, 2009

There was a time when you were proud to say, 'I graduated from Ecorse High School'! Everyone is pointing the finger at someone else instead of excepting their part in the fall of our children/students. We must work together in order for anything to work. When the help starts from the top it will have a domino effect and work its way down. But when administration could care less, the teachers could care less about teaching, and the students could care less about learning. The fact is, the high school has simply spun out of control. It takes a village to raise a child, but the village has fallen apart and it's so sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

I am a parent and the test scores is down and have been for the past 8 years and they are not getting better you can look on this site at your test scores all the way back to 2001 and it is sad that you got on her and said that the school is improving but it is not and it is in black and white do not justify why the school is falling apart and the quality of education is not there like it was back in the 60,70,80 tell the truth the state should have been stepped in and took control o i forgot they can not if they are not informed your school never met standard test passing why. parents don't volunteer because staff don't listen to them people feel it is a waste of time.the kids know it does not take much to graduate from ecorse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Why have a dress code when no one adheres to it? Why is it that the directions of the staff are not followed by the students? When this happens, why aren't they (the students) held accountable for it? It is in my opinion that this school be shut down, have the necessary people fired and replaced with ones that actually cares about the welfare, education, preparedness, and outcome of the students here. They are not doing their job if the kids are allowed to do whatever they want. The kids think that they do not have to do much in order to graduate and are boosting about it. Why is it that no one appears to see this as a problem? The students need to be shown that there is a whole world out there & anything is possible, despite the environment that they may be living in at this time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

Ecorse high school the quality of education has dropped,they does not communicate with the children they don't hear them when they are speaking, because they are to busy talking at them instead of with them. One counsleor is not enough for a high school. You know what is funny to me. I ask my daughter who is a senior now how would you rate your school and she said a -5 because there is no organization to the school there are 25+ in the class rooms from grade 9-12. I want to say the school is the way it is because they think they can do what they want because we the parents are not stepping up to stop them. We are our children's voices. We can make all the differents in the world.We have the no child left behind act on our let use it to help our childrens of the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

I went to Ecorse High School and I don't think it is a good school at all. In fact I would never send my child there. There was some teachers that really cared about you but others did not care if you were there at all. The education was not what it should be. Don't get me wrong I am sucessful now but it took along time to learn things I should have learned in High School. Kids should not be able to skip school and their Parents not find out some way or another. Teachers should get more involved in the students home life as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2004

Poor quality school not due to uncaring teachers,but inadequate teacher support,teachers are not supported when following through with referrals. Children are very challenging due to various circumstances. School can be too tolerant when it comes to children breaking school rules thus leaving many of the children in the school losing out because the small group of children who are causing trouble continue to consume the time of the administration and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

Ecorse High School is not a very good school at all. It is not a safe environment for any child. I believe the community and the authorities need to take action before something really horrible happens. Their level of education is not furthering due to the curriculum being taught in the district.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

I believe, that Ecorse High School has the potential to be one of the greatest High schools in the downriver community. Commitment is the main thing that has to be in order on everyones part to accomplish future success: Parents, Teachers, Student.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
1%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
5%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
3%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
1%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students1%
Female0%
Male3%
African American2%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White0%
Economically disadvantaged2%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities2%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students17%
Female12%
Male22%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students4%
Female0%
Male8%
African American2%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged3%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students7%
Female3%
Male11%
African American5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students13%
Female6%
Male19%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

71%

Average ACT score

14

Graduation rate

66%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 73% 18%
White 22% 69%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kenneth Mcphaul
Fax number
  • (313) 294-4709

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27385 West Outer Dr
Ecorse, MI 48229
Website: Click here
Phone: (313) 294-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT