Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the area about 5 years ago from downstate. I can only tell you that I am thrilled with Elk Rapids Schools. The education my children receive is best I have experienced at all levels from elementary school to high school. The teachers and principals are great. I researched schools before moving and I so happy I decided on Elk Rapids for my family.

Elk Rapids High School 2

Posted June 15, 2013
- a student
I had been going to Elk Rapids school district my entire life. Ever since I can remember it has been full of drugs and the main staff only want to help the sport teams. They only care about students if they are on a sports team, such as football or basketball, and could careless about those in the drama department or choir. The send all students they don't like to their alternative high school. They don't care about the students, only their ratings.


Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a student
This school changed my life. The teachers and staff were the most compassionate, encouraging people I have met. They shaped my standards for education and made me a better student; I know when to ask for a challenge and push myself, largely in part because of my teachers and mentors. Mrs. Reisig is likely one of the best teachers in the state of Michigan, if not the United States. I'm not usually a fan of hyperbole, but this school deserves it. I was sad when Mr. Gallagher retired, but the standard of excellence continues to be high.

Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a student
I Love this school. its great.its amazing and im happy. you should be too. its beautiful and i smile when i think about it. i love everything about it. i love you.

Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted September 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Elk Rapids High School 0
no rating

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
I feel that the Elk Rapids High School must have paid someone to get the 10 rating. My husband and I feel it is a drug-invested, politically poluted mess that we moved our children away from. Our son came home from baseball practice and told us the coach gave the team the most interactive porn site. He was in 9th grade. That was after telling us that he was one of twelve that did not yet smoke pot. That was the straw that broke the camels back. We moved our kids to the Traverse City schools and they have thrived every since.

Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted November 04, 2007
- a former student
Fabulous school. I moved to Elk Rapids from a nice suburb down state and was blown away by the caliber of education I received at ER schools. Although they only offer a few AP and honors classes, the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate a student that is looking for a more rigorous education. Steve Gallagher is debatably the best principal in the state. I am now a student at the University of Michigan and have been doing better than many of my schoolmates that went to private Detroit area schools such as Detroit Country Day, Cranbrook, Brother Rice, etc. I could not be happier with the education I received from Elk Rapids. Not to mention the friendly people and nurturing environment. If you are considering a move to the area, consider the quality education one more reason to move to the beautiful


Elk Rapids High School 5

Posted November 06, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elk Rapids High School
308 Meguzee Point Road, Elk Rapids, MI  49629
(231) 264-8108
Last modified Elk Rapids High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elk Rapids High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top