Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ebenezer Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ellsworth

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $102,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $636.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2012

Ebenezer is a school that has a loving and caring, almost homeschool atmosphere. The teaching is based on individualized student progress. The teachers truly care about their students and their academic progress. The love of Jesus is in everybody and you can see that in the daily happenings at the school. What a worthwhile place to send your child!!


Posted May 17, 2010

I have been involved in many many schools over the years as a student and mom, and this school is by far the best! I am grateful for the high quality education and caring staff. The kids love their friends and numerous field trips. Bonus? It's affordable too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

My son is a 1st grader at Ebenezer Christian School , this is his second year attending. He has grown acedemically & emotionally. My son has a long history of separation anxiety; My husband & I both believe that the family / home environment that the entire staff & other parents project , is what has helped him to adjust and lower his anxiety. My son's first 2 years at Ebenezer Christian school have been a blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

We love Ebenezer! Our kids are recieving a quality Christian education from caring teachers. The class sizes are small, which allow for more individualized education. The atmosphere is very family oriented and our kids have made great friends. Academics are solid and the extras..band, strings, basketball, community projects, History day, science fair and frequent field trips make it a well rounded education. My favorite part, though, is that my kids spend time in worship, prayer and Bible study on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

The teachers try to make academics top priority at this school, however, many inprovement are needed, funding should focus on the students resources such as computers, books and a safer play area. Also, beware if you are new to the community, Ebenezer Christian School does not offer a warm and welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Not only is our school top notch academically; but I love the family atmosphere at Ebenezer Christian School. Our families get to know each other well over the year and years that our children attend school. Parents work together to create a nurturing, interesting and safe environment for our students. Our school is small, and the parent/teacher to student ratio is fantastic! The parents are highly involved in their children's education, constantly fundraising to supplement our student's tuition, which is low to help area families attend. All of our activities means a lot of contact with eachother. The longer I have been a parent here, the more impressed I am with the integrity of the people involved in our community school. Many parents are simply good friends now. I can't imagine a better place for our four children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Ebenezer has Great caring Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Wholesome! The kind of school that give attention to each childs ablity and makes sure that they excell in all areas of education. I feel blessed that our family is part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 69%
African-American 0% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 6%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sarah Essenberg
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (231) 588-2111

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 158
Ellsworth, MI 49729
Phone: (231) 588-2111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Mary School
Charlevoix, MI


Northwest Academy
Charlevoix, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT