Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Beechview Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Our son has been attending Beechview since fall of 2015. He is in kindergarten. We just passed 100 days of school. We have seen so much growth since he began at Beechview. His teachers are dedicated and very encouraging. The principal and staff are amazing. I am a Deaf mom. The school has been very positive and supportive in ensuring that I have access to an American Sign Language interpreter for important school meetings and functions. I appreciate that they value communication and work hard at being inclusive. We have another son who will be a kindergartener in the fall. We are excited and look forward to having both of our boys be a part of the Beechview family. We thank the teachers, staff and principal for making Beechview a great place to learn and grow.

Beechview Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
Beechview is an excellent school with the most knowledgeable and caring teachers and administrators. My son has been in the multicultural program since First grade, and now he's a Forth grader and I must say that this was such a wonderful placement for him! This school has such a welcoming atmosphere beginning with the office staff and most importantly the principal, Mrs. Hernton. I have been a Beechview parent for 8 years now with my two oldest at upper level schools now also in Farmington Hills. Continue to empower our students! Thank you!


Beechview Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children attended Beechview. We were extremely happy with the school, the outstanding teachers and the community involvement. I don't understand why some of the other reviews were negative---they must have had an axe to grind!! Beechview is filled with wonderful, caring teachers.

Beechview Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school with experienced, caring teachers, good parent involvement, and communication from administration.

Beechview Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
Great teachers and a warm, caring atmosphere. The multicultural program is wonderful and I'm very glad my daughter was a part of it.


Beechview Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Beechview is a great School, the kids enjoy learning and the teachers care about teaching.

Beechview Elementary School 2

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
I agree that Beechview has 'some' good programs and staff members. However I have to say that since having my children at Beechview I am very unhappy with the school. I feel that the current trend of this school is becoming unprogressive. The school is no longer thriving. The leadership that I have seen in the school is lacking! The welcome atmosphere is not there. For being an elementary school I have not experienced any warm fuzzy feelings there! It is a very cold and non-engaging environment. I feel that there is a serious lack of ideas and ways to empower parents. And a lot of information the parents should have they aren't getting in order to be empowered. There are so many things lacking with this school. It is so sad to hear of its former glory. Something really needs to happen.

Beechview Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
First of all, let me say that Beechview has some wonderful programs and staff members. Most of the teachers that I have had the pleasure to get to know are dedicated and wonderful. However, this school has undergone some changes over the years. The former principal, Mrs. Sass built Beechview into a thriving school that people clammered to enroll their children in, acheiving Blue Ribbon Status that was well deserved. Mrs. Sass also had an amazing relationship with the children, to the point of writing a personal note on all of my childrens' report cards. You could tell she actually knew them. Unfortunately, the current principal doesn't seem to be as engaged with the children and it shows. The welcoming atmosphere that used to exist doesn't seem to be there anymore. They need to empower parents and work with them to bring this school back to its former glory.


Beechview Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
I have had my two children at Beechview for the last 4 years. I have been pleased with my children's teachers each year. Last year was especially wonderful when my son was in Mr. Staulter's class. He is one of the most amazing teachers (not to mention a phenomenal person) I've ever met. He reaches kids in a way all teachers should. I was disappointed his grade level assignment changed and he would not be available to teach my daughter. Beechview has been a wonderful learning environment for both my children. I couldn't ask for more.

Beechview Elementary School 3

Posted February 08, 2006
- a parent
Great school. I have 3 children in school. I am so excited to be in a Blue Ribbon school. Thanks to our old principal Mrs. Sass who took us there. Do not care for the current principal. Very impersonable. We never see her socialize with the children. She is always in her office. She is not open to suggestions or working with you on how we can improve a situation. She is no Mrs. Sass. Love the teachers. Do feel some improvements could be made in regards to the ability to come and go to see your teacher as you wish. What ever happened to open door policy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beechview Elementary School
26850 Westmeath Court, Farmington Hills, MI  48334
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (248) 489-3655
Last modified Beechview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top