Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kenbrook Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 409 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2010

Kenbrook is perfect, it is everything you want in a school. The staff is great, the community is very active and everyone is involved in making the students suceed. We started here in 2nd grade and now are in 4th grade. Miss McDermid was the best teacher my son will ever have, and all the others are also great. It has that small town community feel where you just feel comfortable. My son is very, very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The entire staff of this elementary school is dedicated to help each and every child be a success.


Posted October 4, 2009

Kenbrook is a Blue Ribbon Scool, with the most dedicated staff and Principal! Every child, parent and visitor feels special as soon as they enter the building.


Posted October 4, 2009

Kenbrook is an AWESOME school because of the community! Every part of this community is working toward the same goal: STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT! Best thing is that the staff work so hard to make sure children and families find individual success. Children and families work hard to support the efforts of the school! Great place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Kenbrook staff always puts the students first. It is a very friendly school. They work with a positive attitude and it shows in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The staff is truly a team. From the custodial staff, to the teachers and on to the principal they are all pulling for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Kenbrook is a great place - full of community spirit, fellowship, true concern for children, and everyone working hard to provide the best possible learning environment for our students. At the heart of it all - we're a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Other than large class sizes which is now typical of a public school, I have no complaints about Kenbrook. I have two young children who attend Kenbrook and have found the teachers to be wonderful. We come from a private school setting and I really appreciate how the teachers work to give each child individual attention at this school. The parent/teacher communication surpasses any private school I have attended or sent my children to in the past. I am proud to be a Kenbrook parent. I believe that they truly care for our kids and are helping them be their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

We have two children at Kenbrook. The teachers deliver a high level of individual attention and are sensitive to the educational and social needs of each student. Parents here are very interested in and actively involved with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My children are in kindergarten and in 2nd grade at Kenbrook. I've been very happy with their teachers, who have both given my children extra help when they've needed it. One child was being bullied and that was nipped in the bud. Another was having trouble concentrating in school and I was notified right away...the teacher and I are working on getting her to focus. The class sizes are large and that's what I'm not crazy about. There are 26 kids in my 2nd grade child's class. But, it's a public school and definitely one of the better ones in FH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

My son attends kindergarten at Kenbrook. I have been pleased with the attention he receives from his teacher. He feels safe at school and enjoys himself while learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

Disappointing. Principal 'supports' teachers to detriment of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

The level of parental involvement is very high at Kenbrook. The administrators and parents work together to create a positive community. I have two children at Kenbrook and I've been very happy for the past three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

This is a great school! My daughter has been going here for 4 years and we are very pleased with the quality of the teachers and the school community in general. They have gym and music twice per week, and the older kids get a chance to learn instruments if they want. This school seems to have a lower level of materialism than some of the other schools in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Kenbrook is an awesome school. My two kids have been gohe there for 4 years. They have a lot of programs, great teachers, great principle, very involved PTA, lots of special functions. Would definately reccommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
African-American 13% 18%
Asian 11% 3%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Arnie Rubin
Fax number
  • (248) 489-3649

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32130 Bonnet Hill Rd
Farmington Hills, MI 48334
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 489-3711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Fabian Catholic School
Farmington Hills, MI


The Maria Montessori Center
Farmington Hills, MI


Maria Montessori Center
Farmington Hills, MI



Highmeadow Common Campus School
Farmington Hills, MI


The International School
Farmington Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT